

P.O. Box C4010, La Crosse, WI 54602-4010 John D. Parkyn, Chairman of the Board

May 17, 2000

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission ATTN: Document Control Desk Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

COMMITMENT RESOLUTION LETTER #33 DOCKET NO. 72-22/TAC NO. L22462 PRIVATE FUEL STORAGE FACILITY PRIVATE FUEL STORAGE L.L.C.

Reference: May 9, 2000 conference call between the NRC, Private Fuel Storage (PFS), and

Stone and Webster (S&W)

During the above referenced telephone call the NRC requested additional clarification regarding the costs discussed in the PFS License Application and Business Plan for the Private Fuel Storage Facility (PFSF). The NRC questions/comments are documented below along with the PFS response.

NRC Requests/Questions

1. PFS should clarify what year was used as the cost basis for the O&M, construction, and decommission costs presented in the PFSF License Application as well as the cost basis for the costs discussed in the PFS Business Plan.

<u>RESPONSE</u> – All costs presented in the PFS License Application are in 1997 dollars. Costs in the PFS Business Plan are also in 1997 dollars with the exception of the spent fuel canister costs. The June 1998 Business Plan updated the spent fuel canister costs to 1998 dollars.

2. Appendix B of the PFSF License Application states that the decommissioning cost estimate will be adjusted annually to account for the effects of inflation, utilizing the conservatively high Consumer Price Index (CPI), published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Will a regional or national CPI be used?

MMSSOIPUBLIC

<u>RESPONSE</u> – PFS will utilize a regional CPI such as the CPI for Urban Wage Earners for Western States. This will ensure cost updates more accurately reflect conditions in the vicinity of the PFSF.

If you have any questions regarding this submittal, please contact me at 608-787-1236 or Mr. J. L. Donnell, Project Director, at 303-741-7009.

Sincerely,

John D. Parkyn, Chairman Private Fuel Storage L.L.C.

Jan Park

JDP:JRJ
Copy to:
Mark Delligatti
John Donnell
Jay Silberg
Sherwin Turk
Asadul Chowdhury
Greg Zimmerman
Scott Northard
Denise Chancellor
Richard E. Condit
John Paul Kennedy
Joro Walker