

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION REGION IV 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-8064

May 18, 2000

NOTICE OF PUBLIC MEETING

THIS MEETING IS OPEN TO PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

Date and Time of Meeting:	June 1, 2000 7 p.m. (CDT)
Location of Meeting:	Bay City Civic Center, Harvest Room 201 Seventh Street Bay City, Texas
Purpose of Meeting:	To meet with interested community leaders and members of the public on the NRC Reactor Oversight Program. Members of the public will have the opportunity to meet NRC representatives and to comment and ask questions.
NRC Attendees:	 Joseph I. Tapia, Chief, Project Branch A, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP) Neil F. O'Keefe, Senior Resident Inspector, South Texas Project, DRP Gilbert L. Guerra, Resident Inspector, South Texas Project, DRP

NOTES:

- (1) This meeting is with members of the general public.
- (2) NRC personnel, not listed above, that desire to attend this meeting should notify Joe Tapia at (817) 860-8243 by COB on May 25, 2000.

/RA/

Approved By:

Joseph I. Tapia, Chief Project Branch A, DRP

CC:

William T. Cottle, President and Chief Executive Officer STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, Texas 77483

T. H. Cloninger, Vice President Engineering & Technical Services STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, Texas 77483

S. M. Head, Supervisor, Licensing Quality & Licensing Department STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, Texas 77483

A. Ramirez/C. M. Canady City of Austin Electric Utility Department 721 Barton Springs Road Austin, Texas 78704

M. T. Hardt/W. C. Gunst City Public Service Board P.O. Box 1771 San Antonio, Texas 78296

D. G. Tees/R. L. Balcom Houston Lighting & Power Company P.O. Box 1700 Houston, Texas 77251

Jon C. Wood Matthews & Branscomb One Alamo Center 106 S. St. Mary's Street, Suite 700 San Antonio, Texas 78205-3692

A. H. Gutterman, Esq. Morgan, Lewis & Bockius 1800 M. Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20036-5869

G. E. Vaughn/C. A. Johnson Central Power & Light Company P.O. Box 289 Mail Code: N5012 Wadsworth, Texas 77483

INPO Records Center 700 Galleria Parkway Atlanta, Georgia 30339-5957

Bureau of Radiation Control State of Texas 1100 West 49th Street Austin, Texas 78756-3189

Jim Calloway Public Utility Commission William B. Travis Building P.O. Box 13326 1701 North Congress Avenue Austin, Texas 78701-3326

John L. Howard, Director Environmental and Natural Resources Policy Office of the Governor P.O. Box 12428 Austin, Texas 78711

Judge, Matagorda County Matagorda County Courthouse 1700 Seventh Street Bay City, Texas 77414

Mayor, City of Bay City City Hall 1901 Fifth Street Bay City, Texas 77414

Mayor, City of Palacios P.O. Box 845 Palacios City Hall Palacios, Texas 77465

James Mitchell, Sheriff Matagorda County 2323 Avenue E Bay City, Texas 77414

Federal Emergency Management Agency R. L. "Buddy" Young, Regional Director Region VI, Federal Center 800 North Loop 288 Denton, Texas 76201-3698

Office of the Governor Director, Environmental Policy State Liaison Officer P.O. Box 12428 Austin, Texas 78711

Commissioner, Precinct No. 1 Mike Pruett 2604 Nichols Bay City, Texas 77414

Commissioner, Precinct No. 2 George Deshotels Box 571 Matagorda, Texas

Commissioner, Precinct No. 3 Leonard Lamar 1200 Perryman Ave. Palacios, Texas 77465

Commissioner, Precinct No. 4 Percy Carroll P. O. Box 99 ElMaton, Texas 77440

Matagorda County Clerk Gail Denn 1700 7th Street, Room 202 Bay City, Texas 77414-5094

Matagorda County Attorney Jill Cornelius 1700 7th Street, Room 305 Bay City, Texas 77414-5034

Tom Uher Texas State Representative 2219 Avenue G Bay City, Texas 77414

Matagorda County Tax A/C W. B. Wiginton 1700 7th Street, Room 203 Bay City, Texas 77414 District Attorney Steven Reis 1700 7th Street, Room 325 Bay City, Texas 77414

District Judge Jo Ann Ottis 1700 7th Street, Room 315 Bay City, Texas 77414

Justice of the Peace No. 2 Suzan Thompson P. O. Box 656 Matagorda, Texas 77457

Environmental Health Dept. Ed Schulze 2200 7th Street, 1st Floor Bay City, Texas 77414

Port of Bay City Lacey Lowrey 1716 2nd Street Bay City, Texas 77414

Department of Public Safety P. O. Box 1032 Bay City, Texas 77404

Justice of the Peace No. 4 Aaron Green P. O. Box 508 Markham, Texas 77456

Justice of the Peace No. 5 Maurice Ashcraft 1700 7th Street, Room 201 Bay City, Texas 77414

Justice of the Peace No. 6 Joe Knight Star Route, Box 388 Sargent, Texas 77414

Justice of the Peace No. 3 George Frangullie, Jr. 405 Commerce Street Palacios, Texas 77465

Constable, Pct. 2 Frank Craft Jr. 3500 7th Street Bay City, Texas 77414

Constable, Pct. 3 Ken Smith 1103 Green Palacios, Texas 77465

Constable, Pct. 4 Grady Quinney P. O. Box 59 Markham, Texas 77456

Constable, Pct. 5 Rudy Bonifay Rt. 1 Box 50B Bay City, Texas 77404

Constable, Pct. 6 Tom Ward Star Rt. Box 464 Bay City, Texas 77414

DMB (IE 45) OEDO RIV Coordinator (16E15) ORA File

E-Mail through ADAMS To

()	NRC Attendees
PMNS	Mtg Announcement Coordinator
BWS	ADPT
JRJ	ADIP
JAN1	J. Nakoski, Project Manager, NRR
OEMAIL	D/OE
CAH	C. Hackney, RSLO
GFS	G. Sanborn, EO
BWH	B. Henderson, PAO
JAC1, CJG	RA Secretaries
LAO, DLF, TBH	DRP Division
CLG, LMB, NLH	DRS Division
CMS, JAK, NSL	DNMS Division
PDP	D. Papa
LPL	P. Longdo

DOCUMENT NAME: R:_STP\ST6-1MN-DRP.wpd <u>To receive copy of document, indicate in box: "C" = Copy without enclosures "E" = Copy with enclosures "N" = No copy</u>

RIV:SPE:DRP/A	PAO		RSLO		C:DRP/A			
DNGraves;df	BWHende	BWHenderson		CAHackney		JITapia		
5/18/00	5/18/00		5/18/00		5/18/00			

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY