United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Public Affairs Washington, DC 20555 Phone 301-415-8200 Fax 301-415-2234 Internet:opa@nrc.gov

No. 97-100

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Tuesday, July 1, 1997)

DR. B. JOHN GARRICK ELECTED ACNW CHAIRMAN DR. GEORGE M. HORNBERGER, VICE-CHAIRMAN

Dr. B. John Garrick has been elected Chairman, and Dr. George M. Hornberger, Vice-Chairman, of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission's Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste (ACNW).

The ACNW is a part-time advisory group established by the NRC in 1988 to provide independent technical review and advice on the disposal of nuclear waste, including all aspects of nuclear waste disposal facilities, as directed by the Commission. This advice covers activities related to licensing, operation, and closure of high-level and low-level radioactive waste disposal facilities and associated rulemakings, regulatory guides, and NRC staff technical positions. The ACNW also reviews performance assessment evaluations of waste disposal facilities.

Dr. Garrick was appointed to the ACNW on March 6, 1994. He was born in Eureka, Utah. He received his B.S. in physics from Brigham Young University in 1951, and received his M.S. in engineering and Ph.D. in engineering and applied science from the University of California in 1962 and 1968, respectively. In 1954 he was selected via national competition to attend the prestigious United States Atomic Energy Commission's Oak Ridge School of Reactor Technology to do graduate work in nuclear science and technology.

Dr. Garrick retired as President and Chief Executive Officer of PLG, Inc. an international engineering, applied science, and management consulting firm. He continues as a member of the Board of Directors and advisor to the firm. A physicist and engineer, he has pioneered risk assessment methods in many fields including nuclear energy, space and defense, and chemical, petroleum, and transportation.

His accomplishments include Ph.D. thesis on unified systems safety analysis that first advocated what is now known as probabilistic risk assessment (PRA); the building of the first consulting team to perform the initial comprehensive and quantitative risk assessments for the commercial nuclear power industry; major contributions to the analytical methods and thought processes employed in PRA; and being a prime mover in elevating risk assessment to a science and engineering discipline that has had a major impact on management culture and the performance of large, complex engineered systems.

Among Dr. Garrick's honors are: election to the National Academy of Engineering in 1993, President of the Society for Risk Analysis 1989-90, recipient of that Society's most prestigious award, the Distinguished Achievement Award in 1994, and, currently, Vice Chairman of the National Research Council's Board on Radioactive Waste Management. He is a Fellow of three professional societies: The American Nuclear Society, the Institute for the Advancement of Engineering, and the Society for Risk Analysis.

Dr. Hornberger was appointed to the ACNW on September 23, 1996. He was born in Ashland, Pennsylvania. He received his B.S. degree in 1965 and his M.S. degree in 1967 from Drexel University. In 1970, he was awarded a Ph.D. in hydrology from Stanford University.

Dr. Hornberger is the Ernest H. Ern Professor of Environmental Sciences at the University of Virginia, whose faculty he joined in 1970. His current research interests include work involving catchment hydrology and hydrochemistry and the transport of colloids in geological media. He has also served as a visiting professor at Stanford and the United States Geological Survey (USGS). He currently serves as Chairman of the Commission on Environment, Geosciences, and Resources for the National Research Council.

A member of the Geological Society of America and the American Geophysical Union (AGU), Dr. Hornberger won the Robert E. Horton Award (Hydrology Section) from the AGU in 1993. He was elected as a Fellow of the AGU in 1994 and the American Women in Science in 1996. In 1995, he received the John Wesley Powell Award from the USGS, and was elected to membership in the National Academy of Engineering in 1996.

##