United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Office of Public Affairs
Washington, DC 20555
Phone 301-415-8200 Fax 301-415-2234
Internet:opa@nrc.gov

No. 96-30

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Monday, February 12,

1996)

DR. THOMAS S. KRESS REELECTED ACRS CHAIRMAN DR. ROBERT L. SEALE, REELECTED VICE-CHAIRMAN

Dr. Thomas S. Kress has been reelected Chairman and Dr. Robert L. Seale Vice-Chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission's (NRC) independent Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) for 1996.

The ACRS was established in 1957 by Congress to advise the former Atomic Energy Commission, and subsequently the NRC, on the safety aspects of proposed and existing nuclear facilities and the adequacy of related safety standards. The ACRS also performs such other special assignments as the Commission may request, including the review of related research programs.

Dr. Kress was appointed to the ACRS on September 4, 1991, Dr. Seale on February 8, 1993.

Dr. Kress was born in Kingsport, Tennessee. He received his Bachelor and Master of Science degrees in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Tennessee, and earned his Ph.D. in Engineering Science from the same institution. He was employed at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) from 1959 until his retirement last December. While at ORNL, he was involved in a wide range of issues including energy, space, military, and environmental research and development. Before joining ORNL, Dr. Kress worked for three years with Pratt and Whitney Aircraft on the design of an aircraft nuclear propulsion reactor.

From 1974 to 1979, Dr. Kress managed ORNL's Aerosol Release and Transport Program related to the liquid metal fast breeder reactor and light-water reactor safety. He managed ORNL's light water reactor severe accident programs from 1980-1989. During 1989, he was Manager of fission product transport programs at ORNL's Modular High Temperature Gas-Cooled Reactor. He was head of the Applied Systems Technology Section of ORNL's Engineering Technology Division from 1990 until his retirement.

Dr. Seale was born in Rosenberg, Texas. He received his

- B.S. in physics from the University of Houston in 1947 and his M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of Texas in 1951 and 1953, respectively.
- Dr. Seale was a professor at the University of Arizona from 1961 to 1995 and is now professor emeritus. He has been a consultant to several national laboratories; the Kemeny Commission (The President's Commission on the Accident at Three Mile Island); the Safety Audit Committee, the Palo Verde Nuclear Generating Station, Arizona Public Service Company; the Industry Degraded Core Program, Technology for Energy Corporation; and the Advisory Committee on Nuclear Facility Safety at the Department of Energy.
- Dr. Seale is a member of the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations' Advisory Council, the American Physical Society, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He is a fellow of the American Nuclear Society and a registered professional engineer in Arizona.

Other members of the ACRS are:

- Dr. George Apostolakis, Professor, Nuclear Engineering
  Department, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA;
- Mr. James C. Carroll, retired manager, Nuclear Operations Support Department, Pacific Gas & Electric, San Francisco, CA;
- Dr. Ivan Catton, Professor of Engineering, Department of Mechanical, Aerospace and Nuclear Engineering, School of Engineering and Applied Science, University of California, Los Angeles, CA;
- Dr. Mario H. Fontana, Research Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, University of Tennessee, and retired from Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN;
- Mr. William J. Lindblad, retired president, Portland General Electric, Portland, OR;
- Dr. Don W. Miller, Professor and Chair, Nuclear Engineering, Department of Mechanical Engineering, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH;
- Dr. Dana A. Powers, Manager, Nuclear Facilities Safety Department, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM;
- Dr. William J. Shack, Associate Director, Energy Technology Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, IL;
- Mr. Charles J. Wylie, retired chief engineer, Electrical Division, Duke Power Company, Charlotte, NC.