No. 94-77 Tel. 301/504-2240 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Friday, May 13, 1994)

### NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION HONORS EMPLOYEES

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission held its Seventeenth Annual Awards Ceremony on May 12 in Rockville, Maryland, to honor its employees who have demonstrated superior performance. The ceremony was hosted by Chairman Ivan Selin who was joined by James M. Taylor, Executive Director for Operations, to present individual awards to employees.

Certificates for the 1993 Meritorious Presidential Rank Awards were presented to Arthur Bill Beach, Director, Division of Reactor Projects, Region IV; Dennis M. Crutchfield, Associate Director for Advanced Reactors and License Renewal, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR); John T. Greeves, Deputy Director, Division of Waste Management, Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards (NMSS); Leo J. Norton, Jr., Assistant Inspector General for Investigations, Office of the Inspector General (OIG); James G. Partlow, former Associate Director for Projects (NRR); Joseph F. Scinto, former Deputy General Counsel for Hearings, Enforcement and Administration, Office of the General Counsel (OGC); and Michael L. Springer, Director, Office of Consolidation.

The NRC's Distinguished Service Award, the highest honor given by the agency, was presented to three employees for outstanding achievement or contribution of major significance to the NRC. All but honorary recipients received a \$6,000 cash award. The recipients of this award were:

Frank Gillespie, Director, Program Management, Policy Development and Analysis Staff (NRR), honorary;

Nancy L. Dube, Chief, Program Support Branch, OGC, administrative excellence; and

Joanna M. Becker, former Special Counsel for International Affairs, OGC, legal excellence.

Forty-three employees received the NRC's <u>Meritorious Service</u> <u>Award</u>. It is the Commission's second highest honor and is given

for meritorious and excellent achievement or service of unusual value which substantially contributes to the accomplishment of

the agency's mission and has agency-wide significance. All but honorary recipients received a \$3,000 check. Recipients of this award were:

#### <u>Honorary</u>

- Janice E. Moore, Deputy Assistant General Counsel, Advanced Reactor and Special Proceedings Branch, Assistant General Counsel for Hearings and Enforcement, OGC;
- Carl J. Paperiello, Director, Division of Industrial and
  Medical Nuclear Safety, NMSS;
- Charles Z. Serpan, Chief, Engineering Issues Branch, Division of Safety Issue Resolution, Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research (RES);

## Administrative Excellence

- Margaret R. Bender, Personnel Management Specialist, Recruitment, Incentive and Benefits Programs, Office of Personnel;
- Kenneth M. Clark, Senior Public Affairs Officer, Office of Public Affairs;
- Michael Bruce Congdon, Senior Foreign Policy Advisor, Office
  of International Programs;
- William K. Harris, Building Management Specialist, Division of Contracts and Property Management, Office of Administration;
- James Ronald Lundy, Senior Project Officer, Office of Consolidation;
- **Karen L. Olive**, Senior Program Analyst, Program Analysis Branch, Division of Budget and Analysis, Office of the Controller;

# Engineering Excellence

- Leo Beltracchi, Senior Human Factors Engineer, Human Factors Branch, Division of Systems Research, RES;
- Douglas H. Coe, Senior Staff Engineer, Nuclear Reactors Branch, Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards;

-3-

- Gary F. Sanborn, Enforcement Officer, Office of the Regional
  Administrator, Region IV;
- George Sege, Technical Assistant, Office of the Director, RES;
- Robert E. Shewmaker, Senior Structural Engineer, Engineering and Geosciences Branch, Division of Waste Management, NMSS;
- David Terao, Section Chief, Advanced Reactor Engineering
  Section, Division of Engineering, NRR;

### Equal Employment Opportunity Excellence

Barbara D. Williams, Assistant for Minority Recruitment and Career Development, Office of Personnel;

## Health Physicist Excellence

- Mark P. Elliott, Senior Resident Inspector, Babcock and Wilcox Resident Office, Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards, Region II;
- **Cynthia G. Jones**, Section Leader, Operations Branch, Division of Industrial and Medical Nuclear Safety, NMSS;
- Ronald L. Nimitz, Senior Radiation Specialist, Facilities Radiological Safety and Safeguards Branch, Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards, Region I;
- Roger L. Pedersen, Senior Health Physicist, Radiation Protection Branch, Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards, NRR;

# Investigating/Auditing Excellence

- George A. Mulley, Jr., Supervisory Criminal Investigator,
  OIG;
- Richard C. Paul, Senior Investigator, Chicago Field Office, Office of Investigations;

#### Legal Excellence

Mitzi A. Young, Senior Supervisory Trial Attorney, Reactor Licensing Branch, Assistant General Counsel for Hearings and Enforcement, OGC;

-4-

# Management Excellence

- Alvin B. Blunt, Chief, Automated Graphics Service Section, Office of Information Resources Management;
- Jacque P. Durr, Chief, Engineering Branch, Division of Reactor Safety, Region I;
- Arthur T. Howell, III, Deputy Director, Division of Reactor
  Safety, Region IV;
- Marylee Slosson, Chief, Human Factors Assessment Branch, Division of Reactor Controls and Human Factors, NRR;
- Jacob F. Wechselberger, Technical Program Manager (International), Office of the Executive Director for Operations;

## Project Manager Excellence

Chester Poslusny, Jr., Senior Project Manager, Standardization Project Directorate, Associate Directorate for Advance Reactors and License Renewal, NRR;

# Region-Based Inspector Excellence

Joseph J. Lenahan, Reactor Inspector, Engineering Branch, Division of Reactor Safety, Region II;

#### Resident Inspector Excellence

- Michael E. Parker, Senior Resident Inspector, Palisades Resident Office, Division of Reactor Projects, Region III;
- Glenn M. Tracy, Senior Resident Inspector, Indian Point 3 Resident Office, Division of Reactor Projects, Region I;

# Scientific Excellence

Norman A. Eisenberg, Section Leader, Performance Assessment and Hydrology Branch; Division of Waste Management, NMSS;

Charles W. Nilsen, Senior Chemical Engineer, Radiation Protection and Health Effects Branch, Division of Regulatory Applications, RES;

# Secretarial Excellence

Mildred A. Lowrey, Secretary to the Director, Division of Systems Safety and Analysis, NRR;

-5-

Theresa M. Mayberry, Secretary to the Assistant General Counsel for Rulemaking and Fuel Cycle, OGC;

Jacqueline K. Raines, Secretary to the Director, Office for Analysis and Evaluation of Operational Data;

# Support Staff Excellence

Mary Ann Bies, Operator Licensing Assistant, Operations Branch, Division of Reactor Safety, Region III

JoAnn A. Hooker, Office Services Assistant, Division of Reactor Projects, Walnut Creek Field Office, Region IV;

**Evangeline S. Ngbea**, Records and Communications Assistant, Correspondence and Records Branch, Office of the Secretary;

Valencia H. Robbins, Training and Development Assistant, Personnel Staff, Division of Resource Management and Administration, Region II;

Gene R. Wood, Foreman, Copying Section, Printing and Mail Services Branch, Division of Freedom of Information and Publications Services, Office of Administration.