No. 93-154 Tel. 301/504-2240 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Tuesday, October 19, 1993)

NRC NAMES DR. WILLIAM J. SHACK TO ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission has appointed Dr. William J. Shack, Associate Director of the Energy Technology Division, Argonne National Laboratory in Chicago, Illinois, to the independent Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS).

The ACRS was established in 1957 by the Congress to advise the former Atomic Energy Commission, and subsequently the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, with regard to the safety aspects of proposed and existing nuclear facilities and the adequacy of related safety standards. The ACRS also performs such other special assignments as the Commission may request, including the review of related research programs.

Dr. Shack was born in 1943, in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He received his B.S. degree in civil engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in 1964, and his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in applied mechanics from the University of California-Berkeley in 1965 and 1968, respectively.

In 1968, Dr. Shack joined the Mechanical Engineering Department at MIT as an assistant professor. He taught there until 1975.

He joined Argonne National Laboratory in 1975. His work has included measurement and modeling of residual stresses, fracture mechanics analyses of stress corrosion crack growth, assessment of leak-before-break behavior in piping systems, and fatigue of reactor materials.

Dr. Shack is the author or coauthor of more than 75 publications on a variety of topics in applied mechanics and materials behavior. He has served on the NRC Piping Review Committee and various ad hoc NRC committees to assess the impact of environmentally enhanced material degradation on reactor safety and operation. He has also been involved in research on corrosion and stress corrosion cracking of candidate materials for the Yucca Mountain, Nevada, high-level waste repository project.

Other ACRS members follows:

CHAIRMAN: Dr. J. Ernest Wilkins, Jr., Distinguished Professor of Applied Mathematics and Mathematical Physics, Clark Atlanta University, Atlanta, Georgia;

VICE-CHAIRMAN: Mr. James C. Carroll, retired Manager, Nuclear Operations Support Department, Pacific Gas & Electric, San Francisco, California;

MEMBER-AT-LARGE: Mr. William J. Lindblad, retired President, Portland General Electric, Portland, Oregon;

Dr. Ivan Catton, Professor of Engineering, Department of Mechanical Aerospace and Nuclear Engineering, School of Engineering and Applied Science, University of California, Los Angeles, California;

Mr. Peter R. Davis, Consultant, Idaho Falls, Idaho;

Dr. Thomas S. Kress, Head of Applied Systems Technology Section, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee;

Dr. Harold W. Lewis, Professor Emeritus of Physics, Department of Physics, University of California, Santa Barbara, California;

Mr. Carlyle Michelson, retired, Principal Nuclear Engineer, LTennessee Valley Authority, Knoxville, Tennessee, and retired Director, Office for Analysis and Evaluation of Operational Data, Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Washington, D.C.;

Dr. Robert L. Seale, Professor of Nuclear and Energy Engineering, Department of Nuclear and Energy Engineering, College of Engineering and Mines, University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona;

Mr. Charles J. Wylie, retired Chief Engineer, Electrical Division, Duke Power Company, Charlotte, North Carolina.