NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION HONORS EMPLOYEES

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission held its Eighteenth Annual Awards Ceremony in Rockville, Maryland, today to honor a number of employees who have demonstrated superior performance. The ceremony was hosted by Chairman Ivan Selin who was joined by James M. Taylor, Executive Director for Operations, to present individual awards to employees.

A certificate for the 1994 <u>Distinguished Presidential Rank Award</u> was presented to Mr. Taylor.

Certificates for the <u>Meritorious Presidential Rank Awards</u> were presented to Gerald F. Cranford, Director, Office of Information Resources Management; Jesse L. Funches, Deputy Controller, Office of the Controller; Edward L. Halman, Associate Director for Contracts, Security, Freedom of Information and Publications, Office of Administration; Thomas T. Martin, Regional Administrator, Region I in King of Prussia, Pennsylvania; James F. McDermott, Deputy Director, Office of Personnel.

Honorary recipients of the <u>NRC's Distinguished Service Award</u>, the highest honor given by the agency, was presented to Dennis M. Crutchfield, Associate Director for Advanced Reactors and License Renewal, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR) and Karen D. Cyr, Office of the General Counsel (OGC).

Thirty-eight employees received the NRC's <u>Meritorious</u> <u>Service Award</u>. It is the Commission's second highest honor and is given for meritorious achievement or service of unusual value which substantially contributes to the accomplishment of the agency's mission and has agency-wide significance. All but honorary recipients received a \$3,000 check. Recipients of this award were:

<u>Honorary</u>

Frederick C. Combs, Chief, Operations Branch of the Division of Industrial and Medical Nuclear Safety, Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards (NMSS);

Carlyle Michelson, former member of the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards;

Administrative Excellence

- Spiros C. Droggitis, Senior Intergovernmental Program Analyst, Assistant Director for State, Local and Indian Relations, Office of State Programs;
- Tyrone S. Greene, Chief, Licensing Documentation Reference Unit, Information and Records Management Branch, Office of Information Resources Management;
- **Karen Henderson**, International Policy Analyst, Division of Nonproliferation, Exports, and Multilateral Relations, Office of International Programs;
- **Elise A. Heumann**, Senior Program Analyst, Program Analysis Branch, Division of Budget and Analysis, Office of the Controller;
- Patricia S. Kaplan, Employee Assistance Program Manager, Office of Personnel;
- Roger A. Lindsay, Chief, Audiovisual Section, Publications Branch, Division of Freedom of Information and Publications Services, Office of Administration;
- Linda E. Portner, Associate Director, Assistant to Chairman for Congressional Communication, Office of Congressional Affairs;
- Marianne M. Riggs, Senior Budget and Contract Analyst, Financial Management, Procurement and Administration Staff, Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research (RES);
- Hans B. Schechter, Senior Program Manager for Central and Eastern Europe Group, Division of Bilateral Cooperation and Assistance, Office of International Programs;

Engineering Excellence

- Nilesh C. Chokshi, Senior Structural Engineer, Structural and Geological Engineering Branch, Division of Engineering Technology, RES;
- Nancy L. Osgood, Project Manager, Cask Certification Section, Storage and Transport Systems Branch, NMSS;
- Mark P. Rubin, Chief, Reliability Applications Section, Probabilistic Safety Assessment Branch; Division of Systems Safety and Analysis, NRR;
- K. Steven West, Chief, Special Projects Section, Plant Systems Branch, Division of Systems Safety and Analysis, NRR;

Equal Employment Opportunity Excellence

Clayton L. Pittiglio, Jr., Project Manager, Reactor Decommissioning Section, Division of Waste Management, NMSS;

<u>Health Physicist Excellence</u>

- John M. Pelchat, Radiation Specialist, Nuclear Materials Safety and Safeguards Branch, Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards, Region II, Atlanta, Georgia;
- Mohamed M. Shanbaky, Chief, Research Development and Decommissioning, Nuclear Materials Safety Branch, Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards, Region I;

Investigating/Auditing Excellence

- William D. McDowell, Jr., Senior Auditor, Assistant Inspector General for Audits, Office of the Inspector General;
- Everett L. Williamson, Jr., Director, Office of Investigations Field Office, Dallas, Texas;

Legal Excellence

James M. Cutchin IV, Special Counsel, Deputy General Counsel for Hearings, Enforcement and Administration, OGC;

Management Excellence

- **Kathleen J. Hamill**, Director, Division of Resource Management and Administration, Region IV, Arlington, Texas;
- Ronald L. Lloyd, Chief, Reactor Operations Analysis Section, Reactor Analysis Branch, Office for Analysis and Evaluation of Operational Data;
- Claudia A. Seelig, Chief, Program Analysis Branch, Program Management, Policy Development and Analysis Staff, NMSS;
- Cheryl A. Trottier, Section Leader, Engineering and Decommissioning, Radiation Protection and Health Effects Branch, Division of Regulatory Applications, RES;
- Ronald V. Villafranco, Chief, Planning and Resource Analysis Section, Planning, Program and Management Support Branch, Division of Inspection and Support Programs, NRR;

Project Manager Excellence

Ronald B. Eaton, Senior Project Manager, Division of Reactor
Projects, Regions I/II, NRR;

Region-Based Inspector Excellence

Elmo E. Collins, Team Leader, Division of Reactor Safety,
Region IV;

Federico A. Maura, Reactor Inspector, Operational Programs Section, Division of Reactor Safety, Region III, Lisle, Illinois;

Resident Inspector Excellence

Charles R. Ogle, Resident Inspector, Robinson nuclear power plant, South Carolina;

Senior Resident Inspector Excellence

Melvyn N. Leach, Senior Resident Inspector, Dresden nuclear power plant, Illinois;

Scientific Excellence

James W. Johnson, Section Leader, Risk Based Regulation and Reliability Section, Probabilistic Risk, Analysis Branch, Division of Systems Technology, RES;

Falk Kantor, Senior Emergency Preparedness Specialist, Emergency Preparedness and Radiation Protection Branch, Division of Technical Support, NRR;

Secretarial Excellence

Linda L. Cox, Secretary to the Director, Division of Reactor Safety, Region III;

Beverly J. Sweeney, Secretary to the Associate Director for Advanced Reactors and License Renewal, NRR;

Ola B. West, Secretary to the Director, Division of Reactor Safety, Region II;

Support Staff Excellence

Ethel M. Barnard, Information Systems Specialist, Operations Support Branch, Advisory Committee on Reactors Safeguards/Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste;

Virgil N. Curley, Operator Licensing Assistant, Operations Branch, Division of Reactor Safety, Region I.