No. 93-185 Tel. 301/504-2240 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Tuesday, December 28, 1993)

ACRS ELECTS DR. J. ERNEST WILKINS, JR., CHAIRMAN; DR. THOMAS S. KRESS, VICE-CHAIRMAN

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission's independent Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) has elected Dr. J. Ernest Wilkins, Jr., to continue as Chairman for 1994. Dr. Wilkins succeeded Dr. Paul G. Shewmon as Chairman in June 1993. Dr. Thomas S. Kress has been elected Vice-Chairman for 1994.

The ACRS was established in 1957 by the Congress to advise the former Atomic Energy Commission, and subsequently the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, on the safety aspects of proposed and existing nuclear facilities and the adequacy of related safety standards. The ACRS also performs such other special assignments as the Commission may request, including the review of related research programs.

Dr. Wilkins was appointed to the ACRS in April 1990. Dr. Kress was appointed to the ACRS in September 1991.

Dr. Wilkins was born in Chicago, Illinois. He received his Bachelor and Master of Sciences degrees in mathematics from the University of Chicago, and earned his Ph.D. in mathematics from the same institution. He continued his studies at New York University where he obtained additional Bachelor and Master degrees in mechanical engineering.

From 1943-44, Dr. Wilkins served as an instructor of mathematics at the Tuskegee Institute in Alabama. He served as a physicist in the Metallurgical Laboratory of the University of Chicago from 1944 through 1946. During the period from 1946-50, he was employed by the American Optical Company in Buffalo, New York. Dr. Wilkins joined United Nuclear Corporation in 1950 in White Plains, New York, and was Manager of Research and Development when he left in 1960.

From 1960-1970, Dr. Wilkins continued in the nuclear field with General Atomic Company of San Diego, California. From 1970-1977, he served as Distinguished Professor of applied mathematical physics at Howard University, and from 1977-1984, he served as Vice President and Deputy General Manager for Science and Engineering at EG&G Idaho, Inc. He spent 1984-1985 as an Argonne Fellow for Argonne National Laboratory in Illinois. At present, he is Distinguished Professor of applied mathematics and mathematical physics at Clark Atlanta University, Atlanta, Georgia.

Dr. Kress was born in Kingsport, Tennessee. He received his Ph.D. in engineering science from the University of Tennessee in 1971.

Dr. Kress has been with the Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) since 1959. He has been involved in a wide range of issues including energy, space, military, and environmental research and development. Before joining ORNL, Dr. Kress worked for three years with Pratt and Whitney Aircraft on the design of the Aircraft Nuclear Propulsion Reactor.

From 1974 to 1979, Dr. Kress managed the aerosol release and transport program related to liquid metal fast breeder reactor and light water reactor safety.

He managed ORNL's light water reactor severe accident programs from 1980-1989. During 1989, Dr. Kress was Manager of ORNL's modular high temperature gas-cooled reactor fission product transport programs. Since 1989, Dr. Kress has been Head of the Applied Systems Technology Section of the Engineering Technology Division of ORNL.

Other members of the ACRS are:

Mr. James C. Carroll, retired Manager, Nuclear Operations Support Department, Pacific Gas & Electric, San Francisco, CA;

Dr. Ivan Catton, Professor of Engineering, Department of Mechanical, Aerospace and Nuclear Engineering, School of Engineering and Applied Science, University of California, Los Angeles, CA;

Mr. Peter R. Davis, Consultant, Idaho Falls, ID;

Dr. Harold W. Lewis, Professor Emeritus of Physics, Department of Physics, University of California, Santa Barbara, CA;

Mr. William J. Lindblad, retired President, Portland General Electric, Portland, OR;

Mr. Carlyle Michelson, retired Principal Nuclear Engineer, Tennessee Valley Authority, Knoxville, TN, and retired Director, Office for Analysis and Evaluation of Operational Data, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Washington, DC;

-3-

Dr. Robert L. Seale, Professor of Nuclear and Energy Engineering, Department of Nuclear and Energy Engineering, College of Engineering and Mines, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ;

Dr. William J. Shack, Associate Director, Energy Technology Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, IL;

Mr. Charles J. Wylie, retired Chief Engineer, Electrical Division, Duke Power Company, Charlotte, NC.