No. 95-89 Tel. 301/415-8200

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Tuesday, July 25, 1995)

NRC NAMES THREE PROFESSORS IN ENGINEERING PROGRAMS TO ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) has appointed three professors with doctorates in engineering to its independent Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS). They are Dr. George E. Apostolakis, Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT); Dr. Mario H. Fontana, Adjunct Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, University of Tennessee; and Dr. Don W. Miller, Professor and Chair, Nuclear Engineering Program, Ohio State University.

The ACRS was established in 1957 by the Congress to advise the former Atomic Energy Commission, and subsequently the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, with regard to the safety aspects of proposed and existing nuclear facilities and the adequacy of related safety standards. The ACRS also performs such other special assignments as the Commission may request, such as the review of NRC research programs.

Dr. Apostolakis was born on April 7, 1946, in Greece. He received his M.S. in engineering science and Ph.D. in engineering science and applied mathematics from the California Institute of Technology in 1970 and 1973, respectively. In 1973, he joined the faculty of The University of California at Los Angeles, where he served as Professor, School of Engineering and Applied Science, until June 30 of this year.

Dr. Apostolakis has received a number of honors and awards. In 1974, he was presented the Mark Mills Award from the American Nuclear Society (ANS) and, in 1990, a Certificate of Appreciation from the NRC. Dr. Apostolakis is a Fellow of the ANS and the Society for Risk Analysis.

Dr. Fontana was born in Massachusetts on March 30, 1933. He received a B.S. in 1955 from the University of Massachusetts, an M.S. in 1957 in mechanical engineering from MIT, and a Ph.D. in 1968 in mechanical engineering from Purdue University. Dr. Fontana also attended the Oak Ridge School of Reactor Technology. Dr. Fontana has worked in the field of nuclear reactor safety for over 35 years, with the Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) and with industrial consultants. He retired from ORNL as a Group Leader in December 1994.

He was the principal investigator of the NRC Severe Accident Sequence Assessment Program, Technical Director of the Industry Degraded Core Rulemaking Program, Technical Director of the Department of Energy's Advanced Reactor Severe Accident Program, a consultant to the original Rasmussen Reactor Safety Study, and a consultant to the President's Commission on the Accident at the Three Mile Island nuclear power plant. He is a Fellow of the ANS.

Dr. Miller was born on March 16, 1942, in Ohio. He received an M.S. and Ph.D. in nuclear engineering at The Ohio State University in 1970 and 1971, respectively. In addition, he received a B.S. in 1964 and an M.S. in 1966 in physics at Miami (Ohio) University. Dr. Miller has been a member of the Nuclear Engineering Faculty at Ohio State for the past 23 years. Since 1978, he has served as Chair of the Nuclear Engineering Program and Director of Ohio State's Nuclear Reactor Laboratory.

Dr. Miller's specialty is in the field of nuclear plant instrumentation and control systems. His recent research activities have been directed to computer-based safety and control systems and applications of fiber optics in nuclear power plants. In 1989, Dr. Miller received the Glenn Murphy Award for notable professional contributions to the teaching aspects of nuclear engineering. He is a Fellow of the ANS and was recently elected Vice President/President-Elect.

A list of other ACRS members follows:

CHAIRMAN: Dr. Thomas S. Kress, retired Head of Applied Systems Technology Section, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN;

VICE-CHAIRMAN: Dr. Robert L. Seale, Professor of Nuclear and Energy Engineering, Department of Nuclear and Energy Engineering, College of Engineering and Mines, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ;

Mr. James C. Carroll, retired Manager, Nuclear Operations Support Department, Pacific Gas & Electric, San Francisco, CA; Dr. Ivan Catton, Professor of Engineering, Department of Mechanical, Aerospace and Nuclear Engineering, School of Engineering and Applied Science, University of California, Los Angeles, CA;

Mr. William J. Lindblad, retired President, Portland General Electric, Portland, OR;

Dr. Dana A Powers, Manager, Nuclear Facilities Safety Department, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM;

Dr. William J. Shack, Associate Director, Energy Technology Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, IL;

Mr. Charles J. Wylie, retired Chief Engineer, Electrical Division, Duke Power Company, Charlotte, NC.

#