No. 93-60 Tel. 301/504-2240 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Tuesday, May 4, 1993)

#### NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION HONORS EMPLOYEES

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission held its Sixteenth Annual Awards Ceremony on May 3 in Rockville, MD, to honor its employees who, over the past year, have demonstrated superior performance. The ceremony was hosted by Chairman Ivan Selin who was joined by James M. Taylor, Executive Director for Operations, to present individual awards to employees.

Certificates for the 1992 Presidential Distinguished Rank Awards were presented to Robert M. Bernero, Director, Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards (NMSS); Joseph J. Fouchard, Director, Office of Public Affairs; Edward L. Jordan, Director, Office for Analysis and Evaluation of Operational Data (AEOD); Martin G. Malsch, Deputy General Counsel for Licensing and Regulation, Office of the General Counsel (OGC); and James H. Sniezek, Deputy Executive Director for Nuclear Reactor Regulation, Regional Operations, and Research.

Certificates for <u>Presidential Meritorious Executive Rank</u>
<u>Awards</u> were presented to:

Guy A. Arlotto, Deputy Director, NMSS;

- Eric S. Beckjord, Director, Office of Nuclear Regulatory
  Research (RES);
- James L. Blaha, Assistant for Operations, Office of the Executive Director for Operations (EDO);
- Raymond J. Brady, Director, Division of Security, Office of Administration;
- Leonard J. Callan, Director, Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards, Region IV;
- Charles E. MacDonald, Chief, Transportation Branch, Division of Industrial and Medical Nuclear Safety, NMSS;
  - Robert D. Martin, Former Regional Administrator, Region IV;

- Frank J. Miraglia, Jr., Deputy Director, Office of Nuclear
  Reactor Regulation (NRR);
- Bill M. Morris, Director, Division of Regulatory
  Applications, RES;
- Kenneth A. Raglin, Director, Technical Training Center,
  AEOD;
- Ross A. Scarano, Director, Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards, Region V;
- Brian W. Sheron, Director, Division of Systems Research,
  RES;
  - Themis P. Speis, Deputy Director for Research, RES;
- R. Lee Spessard, Director, Division of Operational Assessment, AEOD;
- The NRC's Distinguished Service Award, the highest honor given by the agency, was presented to four employees for outstanding achievement or contribution of major significance to NRC. All but honorary recipients received a \$6,000 cash award. The recipients of this award were:
- Joseph J. Fouchard, Director, Office of Public Affairs, honorary;
- James G. Partlow, Associate Director for Projects, NRR, honorary;
- Edward C. Shomaker, Senior Project Manager for U.S.-CIS (Confederation of Independent States) cooperation, Office of International Programs, Administrative Excellence;
- Ross C. Butcher, Senior Resident Inspector, Turkey Point Nuclear Power Station in Florida, Division of Reactor Projects, Region II, Resident Inspector Excellence.

Forty-two employees received the NRC's <u>Meritorious Service Award</u>. It is the Commission's second highest honor and is given for meritorious and excellent achievement or service of unusual value which substantially contributes to the accomplishment of the agency's mission and has agency-wide significance. All but honorary recipients received a \$3,000 check. Recipients of this award were:

#### <u>Honorary</u>

Paul E. Bird, Director, Office of Personnel;

James L. Blaha, Assistant for Operations, EDO;

Jose A. Calvo, Assistant Director for Region I Reactors, Division of Reactor Projects I/II, NRR;

James Lieberman, Director, Office of Enforcement;

Patricia G. Norry, Director, Office of Administration;

### Administrative Excellence

Michael S. Callahan, Senior Congressional Affairs Officer, Office of Congressional Affairs;

Yvonne S. Elko, Management Analyst, Resource Management Section, Division of Resource Management and Administration, Region IV;

Elizabeth A. Hayden, Public Affairs Officer, Office of Public Affairs;

Daniel J. Holody, Jr., Enforcement Officer, Region I;

Judith Seeherman, Senior Computer Systems Programmer, Division of Information Support Services, Office of Information Resources Management;

Dorothy M. Slater, Senior Budget Analyst, Division of Budget and Analysis, Office of the Controller;

#### Engineering Excellence

Ian Barnes, Technical Assistant, Division of Reactor Safety,
Region IV;

John P. Jankovich, Section Leader, Quality Assurance Section, Transportation Branch, NMSS;

Joseph P. Joyce, Senior Advisor for Advanced Instrumentation, Division of Reactor Controls and Human Factors, NRR;

Joseph D. Kane, Senior Civil Engineer, Low-Level Waste Branch, NMSS;

- Howard J. Larson, Senior Staff Engineer, Nuclear Waste Branch, Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste;
- Harold L. Ornstein, Senior Reactor Systems Engineer, Reactor
  Operations Analysis Branch, AEOD;
- Leonard Soffer, Section Leader, Severe Accident Issues Branch, RES;

### Equal Employment Opportunity Excellence

Samuel L. Pettijohn, Senior Project Manager, Division of Safety Programs, AEOD;

## Health Physics Excellence

- John D. Kinneman, Chief, Research, Development and Decommissioning Section, Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards, Region I;
- George B. Kuzo, Senior Radiation Specialist, Radiological Protection and Emergency Preparedness Branch, Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards, Region II;

## Investigation/Auditing Excellence

- S. Russell Irish III, Senior Auditor, Office of the Inspector General;
- Philip V. Joukoff, Senior Investigator, Office of Investigations;

### <u>Legal Excellence</u>

John Cho, Special Counsel, OGC;

Geary S. Mizuno, Senior Attorney, Division of Rulemaking and Fuel Cycle, OGC;

## Management Excellence

- William H. Bateman, Chief, Regional Operations and Program Management Staff, EDO;
- Richard W. Borchardt, Section Chief, Associate Directorate for Advanced Reactors and License Renewal, NRR;

-5-

- Ralph O. Meyer, Section Leader, Reactor and Plant Systems Branch, RES;
- Lewis F. Miller, Jr., Chief, Reactor Safety Branch, Division of Reactor Safety and Projects, Region V;
- **Elizabeth J. Yeates,** Chief, Public Document Branch, Office of the Secretary;

## Project Manager Excellence

Thomas J. Kenyon, Senior Project Manager, Associate Directorate for Advanced Reactors and License Renewal, NRR;

#### Region-Based Inspector Excellence

- Nick Economos, Metallurgical Engineer, Division of Reactor Safety, Region II;
- **Zelig Falevits,** Reactor Inspector, Division of Reactor Safety, Region III.

## Resident Inspector Excellence

John B. Macdonald, Senior Resident Inspector, Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station in Massachusetts, Region I.

### Scientific Excellence

- Anthony N. Tse, Senior Nuclear Engineer, Division of Regulatory Applications, RES;
- Michael F. Weber, Section Leader, Decommissioning and Regulatory Issues Branch, Division of Low-Level Waste, NMSS;

### Secretarial Excellence

- Mary A. King, Secretary to the Associate Director for Inspection and Technical Assessment, NRR;
- **Dianna J. T. Papini,** Secretary to the Deputy General Counsel for Hearings, Enforcement and Administration, OGC;
- Jean M. Roberts, Secretary to the Regional Administrator, Region III.

# Support Staff Excellence

Vanessa A. Giles, Personnel Security Assistant, Division of Security, Office of Administration;

Nancy C. Tucci, Senior Personnel Assistant, Executive and Operations Support, Office of Personnel.