No. 91-132 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Tel. 301/492-0240 (Thursday, October 17, 1991)

NRC STAFF PLANS MEETING WITH AGREEMENT STATES ON AGENCY RULEMAKING PROCEEDINGS

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission staff will hold a public meeting on Sunday, October 27, in Sacramento, CA, with representatives of 28 Agreement States which have assumed part of NRC's regulatory authority. Members of the public also may participate in the meeting, which is being held to obtain input on five agency rulemaking proceedings.

The session will be held from 1 to 4 p.m. at the Holiday Inn, Capitol Plaza, at 300 J Street in Sacramento.

The meeting is one of the steps being taken by the NRC staff to carry out a Commission directive to obtain early and substantial involvement of these 28 States in rulemaking proceedings and other NRC regulatory efforts that affect NRC and/or States licensees. The staff particularly is interested in consulting with these States on the need to make their regulatory requirements compatible with those proposed by the NRC in individual rulemakings.

The October 27 meeting will focus on: (1) rulemaking to revise Part 40 of the NRC's regulations governing source material; (2) a petition for rulemaking filed by General Electric Company and Westinghouse Electric Corporation for reconsideration of the requirements governing funding of decommissioning of licensed facilities; (3) rulemaking to revise Part 34 of the NRC's regulations dealing with radiography; (4) rulemaking to revise Part 21 dealing with the reporting of defects and noncompliance; and (5) revisions to part 35 dealing with radiopharmaceuticals.

Questions about the meeting can be addressed to Vandy Miller, State Programs office, Office of Governmental and Public Affairs, Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Washington, D.C. 20555; telephone: 301/4920-0326.

States which have assumed, by agreement with the NRC, part of its regulatory authority are: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Washington.

#