No. 91-130 Tel. 301/492-0240 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Wednesday, October 9, 1991)

NRC STAFF PROPOSES \$25,000 FINE OF DUQUESNE LIGHT COMPANY FOR ALLEGED VIOLATION AT BEAVER VALLEY POWER STATION

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission staff has cited Duquesne Light Company for an apparent violation at its Beaver Valley Power Station Unit 1 in Shippingport, Pennsylvania. The staff is proposing a \$25,000 fine.

In June of this year, a Duquesne Light Quality Assurance auditor found a pipe weld that was not on his drawings of the plant's piping systems, as they were built, and not included in the Inservice Inspection (ISI) program required for those systems. A follow-up by the licensee's engineering department identified 76 welds on the low head safety injection system that had been omitted from Unit 1 isometric and vendor-supplied drawings. These welds were not included in the ISI program and had not been included on a list of welds that might be inspected during the first ten year inspection interval, as required by the applicable inspection code. In addition, the NRC staff alleges the licensee did not act in a timely manner to identify the extent of the problem and correct it. A review to determine if a similar problem existed in other safety systems was not conducted until after July 9, when a review found 76 welds in the residual heat removal system and another 71 in the high head safety injection system had not been inspected.

In a letter to Duquesne Light, Thomas T. Martin, Regional Administrator, NRC Region I, said, "While it now appears the failure to inspect the welds in question was of low safety significance based on re-examination of a selected number of welds, the failure to adequately assess the scope of the problem initially is a significant issue."

Duquesne Light now has 30 days to submit a written statement to the NRC admitting or denying the alleged violations, explaining the reasons for them, if admitted, stating the corrective actions which have been or will be taken, and the date when full compliance with NRC regulations was or will be achieved. The licensee also has 30 days to pay the proposed fine or to request that all or part of it be withdrawn. The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania has been informed of this proposed enforcement action.