No. 91-9 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Tel. 301/492-0240 (Tuesday, January 22, 1991)

ACRS ELECTS DAVID A. WARD, CHAIRMAN FOR 1991; PAUL G. SHEWMON AS VICE-CHAIRMAN

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission's Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) has elected Mr. David A. Ward as Chairman and Dr. Paul G. Shewmon as Vice-Chairman for 1991.

The ACRS was established in 1957 by the Congress to advise the former Atomic Energy Commission, and subsequently the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, on the safety aspects of proposed and existing nuclear facilities and the adequacy of proposed reactor safety standards.

Mr. Ward was appointed to the ACRS in November 1980. He received his B.S. in mechanical engineering from the University of Illinois in 1953 and began his career with E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company as Research Engineer, Reactor Engineering Division, Savannah River Laboratory, near Aiken, SC. He filled positions of increasing responsibility with Du Pont over the next 22 years, and in 1975 was appointed Superintendent, Department of Reactor Technology, at Savannah River. He held that position until 1978 when he was promoted to Superintendent, Department of Reactor and Reactor Materials Technology.

In May 1980, Mr. Ward was appointed Research Manager of Nuclear Engineering. He was Research Manager on special assignment at Savannah River from January 1985 until his retirement from Du Pont on March 31, 1989. He is currently an engineering consultant based in North Augusta, SC, where he and his wife, the former **Diana** Nainis, reside.

Dr. Shewmon received his B.S. in metallurgical engineering at the University of Illinois in 1952 and his Ph.D. from Carnegie Institute of Technology in 1955.

From 1955 to 1958, Dr. Shewmon was a research engineer at the Westinghouse Research Laboratory. In 1958 he joined the faculty of Carnegie Institute of Technology as an assistant professor and became a full professor in 1965.

He joined the staff of Argonne (IL) National Laboratory in 1967 and was Director of the Materials Science Division from 1969 to 1973. From 1973 through 1975, he was Director of the Division of Materials Research of the National Science Foundation. He then joined the faculty at Ohio State University as Professor of the Metallurgical Engineering Department, serving as Chairman from 1975 to 1983. Dr. Shewmon has been a member of the ACRS since June 1977.

Dr. Shewmon and his wife, the former Dorothy Bond, reside in Columbus, OH.

Other members of the ACRS are:

- Mr. James C. Carroll, retired Manager, Nuclear Operations Support Department, Pacific Gas and Electric, San Francisco, CA;
- Dr. Ivan Catton, Professor of Engineering, Department of Mechanical, Aerospace and Nuclear Engineering, School of Engineering and Applied Science, University of California, Los Angeles, CA;
- Dr. William Kerr, Professor Emeritus of Nuclear Engineering, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI;
- Dr. Harold W. Lewis, Professor of Physics, Department of Physics, University of California, Santa Barbara, CA;
 - Valley Authority Michelson, retired Principal Nuclear Engineer, Tennessee and Evaluation of Operational Data, 'Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Washington, DC,' Dr. Chester P. Siess, Professor Engineering, University of
- Dr. J. Ernest Wilkins, Jr., Distinguished Professor of Applied Mathematics and Mathematical Physics, Clark Atlanta University, Atlanta, GA; and
- Mr. Charles J. Wylie, retired Chief Engineer, Electrical Division, Duke Power Company, Charlotte, NC.