No. 92-41 Tel. 301/504-2240 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Monday, March 16, 1992)

## NRC APPOINTS DR. E. THOMAS BOULETTE TO NUCLEAR SAFETY RESEARCH REVIEW COMMITTEE

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission has appointed Dr. E. Thomas Boulette, Vice President of Nuclear Operations and Station Director at Boston Edison Company's Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station in Plymouth, MA, to the NRC's Nuclear Safety Research Review Committee.

The 12-member committee, established in 1988, advises the NRC's Director of Nuclear Regulatory Research on matters of overall management importance. The committee is composed of senior experts in nuclear engineering or science who are qualified to provide technical advice on nuclear regulatory safety research applicable to NRC-licensed nuclear power plants and other licensed facilities. It meets about three times a year in the Washington, D.C., area or at a research institution.

Dr. Boulette has worked in the field of nuclear power for almost 25 years. Before joining Boston Edison in February of this year, he was Vice President of Operations at Maine Yankee Atomic Power Company's nuclear power plant in Wiscasset, ME. He served in a number of managerial positions at the Maine Yankee plant, starting in November 1983.

From 1978 to 1983, Dr. Boulette served in several management positions in the safety division of Westinghouse Hanford Development Company at the Department of Energy's Hanford Engineering Laboratory in Richland, WA. He was a senior radiation protection analyst for Stone and Webster Engineering Corporation in Boston, MA, from 1973 to 1978 and a senior scientist for Battelle-Northwest in Richland from 1968 to 1972.

Dr. Boulette has published more than 40 articles in various scientific journals, lectured at Harvard University and conducted radiation training workshops in Europe.

Dr. Boulette received a bachelor of arts degree in physics from Colby College in 1965 and master's and Ph.D. degrees in nuclear engineering in 1967 and 1968 from Iowa State University.

Dr. Boulette, his wife and one of their four children live in Plymouth.

Other members of the committee are:

Chairman: Dr. David L. Morrison, Technical Director, Energy Resource and Environmental Systems Division, MITRE Corporation, McLean, VA;

Mr. Sol Burstein, retired Vice President and Director of Wisconsin Energy Corporation; Vice Chairman of the Board and Director of Wisconsin Electric Company and Wisconsin Natural Gas Company, Milwaukee, WI;

Dr. Herbert S. Isbin, Professor Emeritus, Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN;

Mr. Edwin E. Kintner, retired Executive Vice President of GPU Nuclear Corporation, Parsippany, NJ;

Dr. Fred J. Molz III, Professor of Civil Engineering, Auburn University, Auburn, AL;

Dr. Neil E. Todreas, Professor and Head, Department of Nuclear Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA;

Dr. Donald L. Turcotte, Chairman, Department of Geological Sciences and Professor of Engineering, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY;

Dr. Robert E. Uhrig, Professor of Engineering, Nuclear Engineering Department, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN;

Dr. Richard C. Vogel, retired Senior Scientific Advisor, Electric Power Research Institute, Palo Alto, CA;

Dr. David D. Woods, Associate Professor, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, Ohio State University, Columbus, OH.