UNITED STATES
NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION IV

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400
ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-8064

January 31, 2000

State of Hawaii

Civil Defense Action

State Department of Defense

ATTN: Richard M Sakuma
Radiation Safety Officer

3449 Diamond Head Road

Honolulu, Hawaii 96816-4495

SUBJECT: LICENSE AMENDMENT NO. 21

Please find enclosed Amendment No. 21 to License No. 53-00706-02. You should review this
license carefully and be sure that you understand all conditions. If you have any questions, you
may contact me at (817) 860-8197.

NRC expects licensees to conduct their programs with meticulous attention to detail and a high
standard of compliance. Because of the serious consequences to employees and the public
that can result from failure to comply with NRC requirements, you must conduct your radiation
safety program according to the conditions of your NRC license, representations made in your
license application, and NRC regulations. In particular, note that you must:

1. Operate by NRC regulations 10 CFR Part 19, "Notices, Instructions and Reports to
Workers: Inspection and Investigations," 10 CFR Part 20, "Standards for Protection
Against Radiation," and other applicable regulations.

2. Notify NRC in writing of any change in mailing address.

3. By 10 CFR 30.36(b) and/or license condition, notify NRC, promptly, in writing, and
request termination of the license:

a. When you decide to terminate all activities involving materials authorized under
the license; or
b. If you decide not to complete the facility, acquire equipment, or possess and use

authorized material.
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4. Request and obtain a license amendment before you:
a. Change Radiation Safety Officers;
b. Order byproduct material more than the amount or form authorized on the
license;
C. Add or change the areas or address(es) of use identified in the license
application or on the license; or
d. Change the name or ownership of your organization.
5. Submit a complete renewal application or termination request at least 30 days before

the expiration date on your license. You will receive a reminder notice approximately
90 days before the expiration date. Possession of radioactive material after your license
expires is a violation of NRC regulations.

In addition, please note that NRC Form 313 requires the applicant, by signature, to verify that
the applicant understands that all statements contained in the application are true and correct to
the best of the applicant’s knowledge. The signatory for the application should be the licensee
or certifying official rather than a consultant.

NRC will periodically inspect your radiation safety program. Failure to conduct your program
according to NRC regulations, license conditions, and representations made in your license
application and supplemental correspondence with NRC may result in enforcement action
against you. This could include issuance of a notice of violation; imposition of a civil penalty; or
an order suspending, modifying, or revoking your license as specified in the "General
Statement of Policy and Procedure for NRC Enforcement Actions" (Enforcement Policy),
NUREG 1600.

Thank you for your cooperation.
Sincerely,
/RA/
Jack E. Whitten

Senior Health Physicist
Nuclear Materials Licensing Branch

Docket: 030-07483
License: 53-00706-02
Control; 467648

Enclosures: As stated
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MATERIALS LICENSE

Pursuant to the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended, the Energy Reorganization Act of 1974 (Public Law 93-438), and Title 10, Code
of Federal Regulations, Chapter I, Parts 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 39, 40, and 70, and in reliance on statements and representations
heretofore made by the licensee, a license is hereby issued authorizing the licensee to receive, acquire, possess, and transfer byproduct,
source, and special nuclear material designated below; to use such material for the purpose(s) and at the place(s) designated below; to
deliver or transfer such material to persons authorized to receive it in accordance with the regulations of the applicable Part(s). This license
shall be deemed to contain the conditions specified in Section 183 of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended, and is subject to all
applicable rules, regulations, and orders of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission now or hereafter in effect and to any conditions specified
below.

Licensee In accordance with letter dated

December 10, 1999
1. State of Hawaii 3. License number 53-00706-02 is amended in

Civil Defense Division its entirety to read as follows:

2. State Department of Defense 4. Expiration date June 30, 2005

3949 Diamond Head Road
Honolulu, HI 96816-4495

5. Docket No. 030-07483
Reference No.

6. Byproduct, source, and/or special
nuclear material

7. Chemical and/or physical form 8. “‘Maximum amount that licensee may

possess at any one time under this
license

Not to exceed 30 millicuries
per set

A. Cobalt-60 A. Source sets A.
(Federal Emergency

Management Agency Model

CDV-784)

B. Cesium-137 Sealed sources B. Not to exceed 32 millicuries
(U.S. Radium Corporation per source
Model 713-W.C.)

C. Cesium-137 Sealed source C. Not to exceed 1 millicurie per
(Minnesota Mining and source
Manufacturing Company
Model 4D6E)

D. Cesium-137 Sealed source (Oak Ridge D. Notto exceed 130 curies per
National Laboratory Model source
ORNL-DSK-2384)

E. Cesium-137 Sealed source (Nuclear E. Notto exceed 16 millicuries
Chicago Corp. Model OCD- per source
S-104)

F. Uranium, Natural or Shielding material F. 999 kilograms

Depleted
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53-00706-02
MATERIALS LICENSE Docket or Reference Number
SUPPLEMENTARY SHEET 030-07483

Amendment No. 21

9. Authorized use

A. through D. For storage only.
E. For use in Nuclear Chicago Corporation CDV-790 Model 1 calibrators for calibration of instruments.
F. For shielding in instrument calibrators.
CONDITIONS
10. A. Licensed material described in Items A., B., C., and D. may be stored at the licensee’s facilities
located at 3949 Diamond Head Road, Building 90, Honolulu, HI.
B. Licensed material described in-ltems E. and F.shall be used only at the licensee’s facilities located at
Building 90, 3949 Diamond Head Road, Honolulu, Hawaii.O
11. A. Licensed material shall be used by, or under the supervision and in the physical presence of
Richard M. Sakuma.
B. The Radiation Safety Officer for this license is Richard M. Sakuma.

12. Sealed sources containing licensed material shall not be opened or sources removed from source holders
by the licensee.

13. A. Each sealed source containing licensed material to be used outside of a shielded exposure device

shall have a durable, legible, and visible tag permanently attached by a durable ring. The tag shall
be at least 1 inch square, shall bear a conventional radiation symbol prescribed in 10 CFR 20.1901
and a minimum of the following instructions: DANGER - RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL - DO NOT
HANDLE - NOTIFY CIVIL AUTHORITIES IF FOUND.

B. Replacement of tags and rings shall be carried out by the licensee in accordance with instructions
contained in procedures provided by the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

14. In addition to the possession limits in Item 8, the licensee shall further restrict the possession of licensed
material to quantities below the minimum limit specified in 10 CFR 30.35(d) or 40.36(b) for establishing
decommissioning financial assurance.

15. The licensee is authorized to transport licensed material only in accordance with the provisions of 10 CFR

Part 71, "Packaging and Transportation of Radioactive Material."
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16. A. Sealed sources and detector cells shall be tested for leakage and/or contamination at intervals not to
exceed 6 months or at such other intervals as specified by the certificate of registration referred to in
10 CFR 32.210.

B. Notwithstanding Paragraph A of this Condition, sealed sources designed to emit alpha particles shall
be tested for leakage and/or contamination at intervals not to exceed 3 months.

C. Inthe absence of a certificate from a transferor indicating.that a leak test has been made within
6 months prior to the transfer, a sealed source or detector cell received from another person shall not
be put into use until tested.

D. Sealed sources need not be leak tested if:
(i)  they contain only hydrogen-3; or
(i)  they contain only a radioactive gas; or
(i)  the half-life of the isotope is 30 days or less; or

(iv) they contain not more than 100 microcuries of beta and/or gamma emitting material or not more
than 10 microcuries of alpha emitting material; or

(v) they are not designed to emit alpha particles, are in storage, and are not being used. However,
when they are removed from storage for use or transferred to another person, and have not
been tested within the required leak test interval, they shall be tested before use or transfer. No
sealed source or detector cell shall be stored for a period of more than 10 years without being
tested for leakage and/or contamination.

E. The leak test shall be capable of detecting the presence of 0.005 microcurie of radioactive material
on the test sample. If the test reveals the presence of 0.005 microcurie or more of removable
contamination, a report shall be filed with the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission in accordance
with 10 CFR 30.50(b)(2), and the source shall be removed immediately from service and
decontaminated, repaired, or disposed of in accordance with Commission regulations. The report
shall be filed within 5 days of the date the leak test result is known with the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory
Commission, Region 1V, 611 Ryan Plaza Drive, Suite 400, Arlington, Texas 76011, ATTN: Director,
Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards. The report shall specify the source involved, the test
results, and corrective action taken.

F. Tests for leakage and/or contamination shall be performed by the licensee or by other persons
specifically licensed by the Commission or an Agreement State to perform such services.

17. The licensee shall conduct a physical inventory every 6 months to account for all sources and/or devices
received and possessed under the license.
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18. Except as specifically provided otherwise in this license, the licensee shall conduct its program in
accordance with the statements, representations, and procedures contained in the documents, including
any enclosures, listed below. The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission’s regulations shall govern unless
the statements, representations, and procedures in the licensee’s application and correspondence are
more restrictive than the regulations.

A. Application dated September 16, 1994
B. Letter dated May 18, 1995
C. Letter dated July 1, 1997
D. Letter dated December 10,1999
FOR THE U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION
Date January 31, 2000 By /RA/

Jack E. Whitten, Senior Health Physicist
Nuclear Materials Licensing Branch
Region IV

Arlington, Texas 76011




