

BIOGRAPHY

Office of Public Affairs

www.nrc.gov ■ opa.resource@nrc.gov



David A. Wright



and consumer advocates.

The Honorable David A. Wright was appointed Chairman of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission by President Donald Trump on Jan. 20, 2025. He was first sworn in as a Commissioner on May 30, 2018. He is currently serving a term ending June 30, 2025.

Chairman Wright was Owner/President of Wright Directions, LLC, a strategic consulting, policy development and communications business focusing on energy and water. During this time, he also was a member of the Advisory Council of the Bipartisan Policy Center's Nuclear Waste Initiative; and an Ex Officio Member and Chairman Emeritus of the Nuclear Waste Strategy Coalition, an ad hoc organization representing the interests of industry, state officials, local governments and tribes,

From 2004-2013, Chairman Wright served the South Carolina Public Service Commission in a variety of capacities, including Vice Chairman and Chairman. From 2011-2012, he served as President of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners; he had previously served the association in other capacities, including as a member of the Executive Committee and Board of Directors. From 2010-2013, Chairman Wright was a member of the Advisory Board of the Board of Directors of the Electric Power Research Institute.

Previously, he was elected councilman and mayor in Irmo, S.C., and to the South Carolina House of Representatives.

A colon cancer survivor, Chairman Wright is an advocate for cancer awareness and education, and a former member of the Leadership Council for the Cancer Centers at the University of South Carolina. He was presented with the Community Champions Award by Molina Healthcare of South Carolina in 2016 and the Blue Star Service Excellence Award by the USC Center for Colon Cancer Research in 2014. In 1996, he received South Carolina's highest citizen honor, The Order of the Palmetto.

Chairman Wright received a bachelor's degree in political science from Clemson University.

January 2025