

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS WASHINGTON, DC 20555 - 0001

November 3, 2023

MEMORANDUM TO:	Scott W. Moore, Executive Director Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards	
FROM:	Joy L. Rempe, Chairman {{si on 11/03/23 Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards	
SUBJECT:	MINUTES OF THE 708 th MEETING OF THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS (ACRS), SEPTEMBER 6-8, 2023	

I hereby certify, to the best of my knowledge and belief, that the minutes of the subject

meeting are an accurate record of the proceedings for that meeting. In accordance with Title 10

of the Code of Federal Regulations, Part 7, "ADVISORY COMMITTEES," Section 7.13,

"Minutes of advisory committee meetings," the enclosure of this memo serves as the certified

minutes.

Enclosure:

708th ACRS Meeting Minutes

cc: Russell Chazell, SECY Araceli Billoch Colon, OEDO ACRS staff ACRS members

CONTACT: L. Burkhart, ACRS 301-287-3775



UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS WASHINGTON, DC 20555 - 0001

November 3, 2023

MEMORANDUM TO:	Scott W. Moore, Executive Director Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards
FROM:	Joy L. Rempe, Chairman Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards
SUBJECT:	MINUTES OF THE 708 th MEETING OF THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS (ACRS), SEPTEMBER 6-8, 2023

I hereby certify, to the best of my knowledge and belief, that the minutes of the subject

meeting are an accurate record of the proceedings for that meeting. In accordance with Title 10

of the Code of Federal Regulations, Part 7, "ADVISORY COMMITTEES," Section 7.13,

"Minutes of advisory committee meetings," the enclosure of this memo serves as the certified

minutes.

Enclosure:

708th ACRS Meeting Minutes

cc: Russell Chazell, SECY Araceli Billoch Colon, OEDO ACRS staff ACRS members

CONTACT: L. Burkhart, ACRS 301-287-3775

Accession	No: ML23306A3	358 Publicly Avail	able (Y/N): _Y 3	Sensitive (Y/N): N
If Sensitive, which category?				
Viewing Rights: 🛛 NRC Users or 🗌 ACRS only or 🗌 See restricted distribution				
OFFICE	ACRS	ACRS/SUNSI Review	ACRS	ACRS
NAME	WWang(WW)	WWang(WW)	LBurkhart	JRempe(JR)
DATE	11/3/2023	11/3/2023	11/3/2023	11/3/2023

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

MINUTES OF THE 708th MEETING OF THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

In accordance with Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations*, Part 7, "ADVISORY COMMITTEES," Section 7.13, "Minutes of advisory committee meetings," this document serves as the certified minutes.

The 708th meeting of the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) was conducted in person and virtually on September 6-8, 2023.

The summary report from the ACRS Chairman to the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Chairman contains the following information for this meeting: (1) an accurate description of each matter discussed and (2) a list of all the documents issued or approved by the Committee.

A transcript of selected portions of the meeting is available in the NRC's public document room (pdr.resource@nrc.gov or 1-800-397-4209), or from the Publicly Available Records System (PARS) component of the NRC's document system (ADAMS), or at http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/acrs/agenda. The transcript along with the list of attendees provides information on the level of public attendance and participation.

Details of the meeting information can be found in the following documents:

- 1. Full committee meeting agenda (ML23214A251)
- 2. Summary report (ML23277A114)
- 3. Transcript (ML23264A864 and ML23264A865)

ACRS MEETING ATTENDEES

ACRS Members

Dr. Joy Rempe (Chairman), Dr. Walter Kirchner (Vice-Chairman), Dr. David Petti (Member-at-Large), Dr. Ronald Ballinger, Mr. Charles Brown, Dr. Vesna Dimitrijevic, Dr. Jose March-Leuba, Dr. Vicki Bier, Mr. Gregory Halnon, Dr. Robert Martin, Mr. Thomas Roberts, and Mr. Matthew Sunseri.

ACRS Consultants

Dr. Dennis Bley Dr. Stephen Schultz

ACRS Staff

- T. Bush
- Z. Abdullahi
- C. Antonescu
- T. Dashiell
- A. Bellinger
- C. Brown
- L. Burkhart
- S. Walton

S. Moore Q. Nguyen H. Nourbakhsh J. Riner J. Perry M. Compton M. Snodderly T. Skov D. Widmayer S. Walker W. Wang

The Appendix lists additional meeting attendees from sign-in sheet and computer program MS TEAMS.

APPENDIX: ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES

ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS 708th FULL COMMITTEE MEETINGS September 6-8, 2023

NAME			
1	Joseph Messina		
2	Michael Markley		
3	J. Lehning		
4	S. Jones		
5	Anchea Kuck		
6	Taul Clistor		
7	Al Contes		
8	James Corson		
9	Kanitrannich		
10	Jerry Dozier		
11	Shilp apavada		
12	Kenn Hsuch		
13	Mike Frankch		
14	Megneklang		
15	Elijas Dickson		
16	TATT Snith		
17	dey Lleyd		
18	STEVE HAVE		
19	MAIT BRUNTON		
20	Michael DUVIS		
21	HATLET MALLA		
22	look Eucas		
23	Namiz GILADA		
24	MITCH MEFARLAND		
25	Michael Hernandez		
	John Wise		
	Lann Gilan		
	Bornie Thomson		

AFFILIATION NRC NRE 11 WRC DAC Robber AFI 1 Nt insouthing, LLC Wliar (0)US NRC US NRC. US MRG MIL JAU umin unlina ENERCON ENERION FPL TURIMUL Luminent Luminant ENERCON/FPL ENERCON/FPL NRC me NRC

ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS 708th FULL COMMITTEE MEETINGS September 6-8, 2023

	NAME		AFFILIATION
1	Ryan Payne		NPiC RES
2			
3			
4		-	107
5	7 9 90 900 9 2 3 ²		
6			ж
7		_	
8	£	-	
9		-	
10		<u>-</u>	a
11			
12		- m	т <u> — при при при при при при при при при при</u>
13		e e e	
		- ⁿ a r	
15		• • • •	
16			
17			
19			
21			
22			
23 24	¥		
			<u> </u>
25			ал <u>в</u>

Attendees Screen Shots from MS Teams Meeting for:

September 6, 2023

Larry Burkhart	Aughtman, Amy G. External	Craven, Robert External
+12*****74	Austin Im	Creek, Bradley External
+17******21	Avinash Jaigobind	David Dijamco
Albright, Lucas lain	Bill Rogers	Deen, Bradford D. External
External Algama, Don R (External)	Bob Martin (He/Him)	Dennis Bley (Guest) Meeting guest
External	Brian Allik	Derek Widmayer
Andrew Prinaris	Brian Harris NRR	Eric Palmer
Andrew Siwy (He/Him)	Christina Antonescu	Eric Reichelt
Aughtman, Amy G. External	Christopher Tyree	Franzone, Stephan External

George Thomas	Jessica Hammock	Matt Sunseri
Gregory Halnon	John Hickman	Matthew McConnell
Hawj, Toutseng External	Jose March-Leuba	Naeem Iqbal
lan Miller External	Kent Howard	On Yee
J R Hoffman External	Lance Rakovan	Ron Ballinger
	Loeffler, Rick A External	Sandra Walker
James Cordes (C	External	
Meeting guest	Lydiana Alvarado	Seung Min
James Gavula	Mack, Kenneth External	Shandeth Walton
James Medoff	Makeeka Compton	Smith, W. M External
Jessica Hammock	Marlow, Brandon Kenneth	Sollom, Stephen E

Stephen Schultz	Udyawar, Anees External
Steven Bloom	Vesna B Dimitrije Meeting guest
Steven Levitus	Webb, Shane External
Tammy Skov	Weidong Wang
Ted Smith	Wenzl, Russ L . External
Thomas Dashiell	Young, Paul B
Thomas Roberts	External
Thompson, Kester External	Zena Abdullahi
Tribe, Jason L External	Zuhan Xi

September 7, 2023

Weidong Wang	Christina Antonescu	Erick Martinez Rodriguez
+13*****15	Christopher Cook	GERKEN Lisa (FRA-FL) External
Alan Smith	Clayton Crouch (Service External	Gilberto Blas Rodriguez
External	Clinton Hobbs	Hossein Esmaili
Bob Martin (He/Him)		James Cordes (Guest) Meeting guest
	David Rahn	
Calvin Cheung		Jeff Smith
	Dennis Bley (Guest)	
CAMPBELL, Alan	Meeting guest	Joseph Ashcraft
External	Derek Widmayer	Larry Burkhart
Carla Roque-Cruz	Drew Childs	Mary H Miller (Services - 6) External
Charley Peabody	Ekaterina Lenning	Mauricio Gutierrez

Michael Marshall	Shandeth Walton
Ming Li	Sheldon Clark (He/Him)
Mohammad Alavi (GA) (Guest) Meeting guest	Shilp Vasavada
Myron Hecht	Shivani Mehta (She/Her/H
NAUGLE Carole (FRA-FL) External	Stephen Schultz
Nick Smith (He/Him/His)	Tammy Skov
Patrick Essner External	Thomas Byrd
Quynh Nguyen	Thomas Dashiell
Ron Ballinger	Vesna B Dimitrije (Guest) Meeting guest
Ron Jarrett (Guest) Meeting guest	Wesley Steh (Guest) Meeting guest
Sandra Walker	William Roggenbrodt

le