

# UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS WASHINGTON, DC 20555 - 0001

July 1, 2023

MEMORANDUM TO: Scott W. Moore, Executive Director

Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards

Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards

FROM: Joy L. Rempe, Chairman

Signed by Rempe, Joy

on 07/01/23

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE 705th MEETING OF THE ADVISORY

COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS (ACRS), MAY 3-5,

2023

I hereby certify, to the best of my knowledge and belief, that the minutes of the subject meeting are an accurate record of the proceedings for that meeting. In accordance with Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations*, Part 7, "ADVISORY COMMITTEES," Section 7.13, "Minutes of advisory committee meetings," the enclosure of this memo serves as the certified minutes.

Enclosure:

705th ACRS Meeting Minutes

cc: Russell Chazell, SECY

Dante Johnson, OEDO

Araceli Billoch Colon, OEDO

ACRS staff ACRS members

CONTACT: L. Burkhart, ACRS

301-287-3775



# UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS WASHINGTON, DC 20555 - 0001

July 1, 2023

MEMORANDUM TO:	Scott W.	Moore,	Executive	Director

Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards

FROM: Joy L. Rempe, Chairman

Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE 705<sup>th</sup> MEETING OF THE ADVISORY

COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS (ACRS), MAY 3-5,

2023

I hereby certify, to the best of my knowledge and belief, that the minutes of the subject meeting are an accurate record of the proceedings for that meeting. In accordance with Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations*, Part 7, "ADVISORY COMMITTEES," Section 7.13, "Minutes of advisory committee meetings," the enclosure of this memo serves as the certified minutes.

Enclosure:

705th ACRS Meeting Minutes

cc: Russell Chazell, SECY

Dante Johnson, OEDO

Araceli Billoch Colon, OEDO

ACRS staff ACRS members

CONTACT: L. Burkhart, ACRS

301-287-3775

Accession No: ML23178A103 Publicly Available (Y/N): \_Y\_\_\_ Sensitive (Y/N): N

If Sensitive, which category?

Viewing Rights: ☐ NRC Users or ☐ ACRS only or ☐ See restricted distribution

OFFICE	ACRS	ACRS/SUNSI Review	ACRS	ACRS
NAME	WWang(WW)	WWang(WW)	LBurkhart	JRempe(JR)
DATE	6/27 /2023	6/27/2023	6/27/2023	7/1/2023

**OFFICIAL RECORD COPY** 

# MINUTES OF THE 705th MEETING OF THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

In accordance with Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations*, Part 7, "ADVISORY COMMITTEES," Section 7.13, "Minutes of advisory committee meetings," this document serves as the certified minutes.

The 705<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) was conducted in person and virtually on May 3-5, 2023.

The summary report from the ACRS Chairman to the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Chairman contains the following information for this meeting: (1) an accurate description of each matter discussed and (2) a list of all the documents issued or approved by the Committee.

A transcript of selected portions of the meeting is available in the NRC's public document room (pdr.resource@nrc.gov or 1-800-397-4209), or from the Publicly Available Records System (PARS) component of the NRC's document system (ADAMS), or at http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/acrs/agenda. The transcript along with the list of attendees provides information on the level of public attendance and participation.

Details of the meeting information can be found in the following documents:

- 1. Full committee meeting agenda (ML23100A148)
- 2. Summary report (ML23151A124)
- 3. Transcript (ML23137A260 and ML23164A162)

#### ACRS MEETING ATTENDEES

#### **ACRS Members**

Dr. Joy Rempe (Chairman), Dr. Walter Kirchner (Vice-Chairman), Dr. David Petti (Member-at-Large), Mr. Matthew Sunseri, Dr. Ronald Ballinger, Mr. Charles Brown, Dr. Vesna Dimitrijevic, Dr. Jose March-Leuba, Dr. Vicki Bier, and Mr. Gregory Halnon

#### **ACRS Consultants**

Dr. Dennis Bley

Dr. Stephen Schultz

#### **ACRS Staff**

- A. Torres
- Z. Abdullahi
- C. Antonescu
- T. Dashiell
- A. Bellinger
- C. Brown
- L. Burkhart
- S. Walton
- S. Moore

- Q. Nguyen H. Nourbakhsh
- J. Riner
- J. Perry
- M. Compton M. Snodderly
- T. Skov
- D. Widmayer
- S. Walker
- W. Wang

The Appendix lists additional meeting attendees from computer program MS TEAMS and signin sheet.

## APPENDIX: ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES

Alex Siwy (She/Her)
Alexander Chereskin
Allen Hiser
Andrew Bielen
Andrew Proffitt
Antony Calvo
Auguste, Rasheed
Ben Adams
Benjamin Beasley
Beville, Tim
Boyce Travis
Brandon Haugh (Kairos Power) (Guest)
Breuninger, James
Brian Tindell
Calvin Cheung
Charlotte Geiger X-energy (Guest)
Christopher Murray
COURTNEY BANKS
David Bannister (Guest)
David Desaulniers
Dinesh Taneja
Donald Palmrose
Drew Peebles (Kairos Power) (Guest)
Edward Harvey
Edward Helvenston
Frederick Sock
Friesen, Carl
George Thomas
George Wang
Greg Galletti
Hatteras (Guest)
Hossein Esmaili
lan Jung
Ingrid Nordby (X-energy) (Guest)
Ismael Garcia
Jason Schaperow
Jeff Correll
Jeffrey Schmidt
Jesse Seymour
Jim Speicher (Guest)

Jordan Hagaman (Guest)
Jordan Hagaman (Kairos Power) (Guest)
Jorge Hernandez
Jose Pires
Joseph Ashcraft
Joseph Giacinto
Justin Hudson
Kairos Power (Guest)
Kamal Manoly
Kamishan Martin (She/Her)
Katz, Max (Heinrich)
Keith Miller
Kelly Dickerson (She/Her)
Kenneth Armstrong
Kenneth Erwin
Kerstun Norman
Kimberly Webber
Kyle Song
Lucieann Vechioli Feliciano
Luis Betancourt
Madhumita Sircar
Maggie Staiger (Guest)
Marty Bryan (Kairon Bower) (Cuaet)
Marty Bryan (Kairos Power) (Guest)
Matthew Denman (Guest) Matthew Hiser
Meg Audrain Michael Balazik
Michael Ellett (Kairos) (Guest)
Michelle Hart
mike melton x-energy (Guest)
Milton Valentin
Nader Satvat (Kairos, Nuclear Design) (Guest)
Nicholas Difrancesco
Oded Doron (Guest)
Per Peterson (Kairos Power) (Guest)
Rachel Haigh (Kairos Power) (Guest)
Raymond Wang (X-energy) (Guest)
Robert Martin, Consultant (Guest)
Ross (Guest)
Ryann Bass
Shaohua Lai
sheila ray (Guest)

Stephanie Devlin-Gill (She/Her)
Steve Bajorek
Steve Bajorek
Steve Wyman
Stuhldreher, Timothy
Tanvir Siddiky
Theresa Buchanan
Thomas Hipschman
Tom Nixon (Guest)
William Jessup
William Schuster
Yamir Diaz-Castillo
Zuhan Xi

# ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS 705th FULL COMMITTEE MEETING MAY 3-5, 2023

## PLEASE PRINT

NAME	AFFILIATION
1 Matt Hiser	NRC/DRR/DANY
2 Ben Beasley	NRC/NRR/ DANU
3 Candare de Messieres	NRCINER DANK
4 Michelle Hart	NRC/NRR/DANU
5 Ed Helvenston	NRC/NRR BANU
6 Hossein Esmaili	NRC/ RES/FSCB
7 John Tomon	NRC/RES/OSA/RPB
8 Canthya Roman	NRC/RES/DSA
9 Nicholas Difrancesco	MCIRES
10 Antony Calvo	NACIRESIDSA
11 Matt Bernard	NACIRESIASA
12 Kinnth Amsking	NACINESIDSA
13 Ray Furstenau	NRC/RES
14 Jeffrey Cioco	DOE OCED
15 Mark 1 latale	PUE CCEP/ARDP
16 MARK FELTNER	Dow
17 Robert Ocomo	_ DOW
18 Martin van Staden	X-energy
19 MAGU AtertS	HATAHTXENEREN
20 Mary Sanderson	X-ENCISY
21 Kreshka Young	Dow!
22 maria Nordba	X-eurgn
23 TRANS CHAMMAN	X-energy &
24 RAYMOND C. WANG	X-eneray
25 Kyle Metzot	X-every /mgr
26	
27	
28	*



### **ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS**

# 704th ACRS FULL COMMITTEE MEETINGS

April 5-7, 2023

### **PLEASE PRINT**

	NAME	ORGANIZATION
1	R Stattel	NRR/DEX/EIGB
2	Ryan sprengel	Terra Power
3	MIKE MONTECALVO	TERRADONAL
4	George Pilland	Terra Piner
5	IAN GIFFORD	Terriforer
6	ERIC WILLIAMS	TERA POWER
7	Baofu Lu	TERPA POWER
8	REEDANZALONE	NRD/DANJ/UTBZ
9	Courtny BANKS	NRL/DANN/ WALT
10	Robert Krek	NRC/COMM / JMB
11		
12		
13		
14		
15		
16		
17		
18		
19		
20		
21		
22		
23		
24		
25		
26		
27		
28		
29		
30		