

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS WASHINGTON, DC 20555 - 0001

June 13, 2023

MEMORANDUM TO: Scott W. Moore, Executive Director

Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards

Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards

FROM: Joy L. Rempe, Chairman

Signed by Rempe, Joy

on 06/13/23

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE 704th MEETING OF THE ADVISORY

COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS (ACRS), APRIL 5-7,

2023

I hereby certify, to the best of my knowledge and belief, that the minutes of the subject meeting are an accurate record of the proceedings for that meeting. In accordance with Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations*, Part 7, "ADVISORY COMMITTEES," Section 7.13, "Minutes of advisory committee meetings," the enclosure of this memo serves as the certified minutes.

Enclosure:

704th ACRS Meeting Minutes

cc: Russell Chazell, SECY

Dante Johnson, OEDO

Araceli Billoch Colon, OEDO

ACRS staff ACRS members

CONTACT: L. Burkhart, ACRS

301-287-3775



UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS WASHINGTON, DC 20555 - 0001

June 13, 2023

MEMORANDUM TO:	Scott W. Moore.	Executive Director

Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards

FROM: Joy L. Rempe, Chairman

Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE 704th MEETING OF THE ADVISORY

COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS (ACRS), APRIL 5-7,

2023

I hereby certify, to the best of my knowledge and belief, that the minutes of the subject meeting are an accurate record of the proceedings for that meeting. In accordance with Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations*, Part 7, "ADVISORY COMMITTEES," Section 7.13, "Minutes of advisory committee meetings," the enclosure of this memo serves as the certified minutes.

Enclosure:

704th ACRS Meeting Minutes

cc: Russell Chazell, SECY

Dante Johnson, OEDO

Araceli Billoch Colon, OEDO

ACRS staff ACRS members

CONTACT: L. Burkhart, ACRS

301-287-3775

Accession No: ML23164A116 Publicly Available (Y/N): _Y___ Sensitive (Y/N): N

If Sensitive, which category?

Viewing Rights:
☐ NRC Users or ☐ ACRS only or ☐ See restricted distribution

OFFICE	ACRS	ACRS/SUNSI Review	ACRS	ACRS
NAME	WWang(WW)	WWang(WW)	LBurkhart(LB)	JRempe(JR)
DATE	6/13/2023	6/13/2023	6/13/2023	6/13/2023

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

MINUTES OF THE 704th MEETING OF THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

In accordance with Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations*, Part 7, "ADVISORY COMMITTEES," Section 7.13, "Minutes of advisory committee meetings," this document serves as the certified minutes.

The 704th meeting of the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) was conducted in person and virtually on April 5-7, 2023.

The summary report from the ACRS Chairman to the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Chairman contains the following information for this meeting: (1) an accurate description of each matter discussed and (2) a list of all the documents issued or approved by the Committee.

A transcript of selected portions of the meeting is available in the NRC's public document room (pdr.resource@nrc.gov or 1-800-397-4209), or from the Publicly Available Records System (PARS) component of the NRC's document system (ADAMS), or at http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/acrs/agenda. The transcript along with the list of attendees provides information on the level of public attendance and participation.

Details of the meeting information can be found in the following documents:

- 1. Full committee meeting agenda (ML23062A605)
- 2. Summary report (ML23122A303)
- 3. Transcript (ML23123A025 and ML23123A029)

ACRS MEETING ATTENDEES

ACRS Members

Dr. Joy Rempe (Chairman), Dr. Walter Kirchner (Vice-Chairman), Dr. David Petti (Member-at-Large), Mr. Matthew Sunseri, Dr. Ronald Ballinger, Mr. Charles Brown, Dr. Vesna Dimitrijevic, Dr. Jose March-Leuba, Dr. Vicki Bier, and Mr. Gregory Halnon

ACRS Consultants

Dr. Dennis Bley

Dr. Stephen Schultz

ACRS Staff

- A. Torres
- Z. Abdullahi
- C. Antonescu
- T. Dashiell
- A. Bellinger
- C. Brown
- L. Burkhart
- S. Walton
- S. Moore

- Q. Nguyen H. Nourbakhsh
- J. Riner
- J. Perry
- M. Snodderly
 T. Skov
 D. Widmayer
 S. Walker

- W. Wang

The Appendix lists additional meeting attendees from computer program MS TEAMS, meeting transcript, and sign-in sheet.

APPENDIX: ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES

Charlotte Geiger (Guest)				
Charlyne Smith (Breakthrough Institute) (Guest)				
Ingrid Nordby (Guest)				
Joe Ashcraft, NRR				
Eric Benner, NRR				
Gilberto Blas Rodriguez, NRR				
Samir Darbali, NRR				
Khoi Nguyen, NRR				
Jason Paige, NRR				
Richard Stattel, NRR				
Dinesh Taneja, NRR				
Brian Yip, NSIR				
William Jessup, NRR				
CHRIS LEVESQUE, Terrapower				
Ed Lyman, Public Participant				
Tara Neider, Terrapower				
Ryan Sprengel, Terrapower				
Mark Werner, Terrapower				
Eric Williams, Terrapower				
George Wilson, Terrapower				
Mark Werner, Terrapower Eric Williams, Terrapower				

ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

704th ACRS FULL COMMITTEE MEETINGS

April 5-7, 2023

PLEASE PRINT

	NAME	<u>ORGANIZATION</u>
1	R Stattel	NRR/DEX/EICB
2	Ryan sprengel	Terra Power
3	MIKE MONTECALVO	TERRADONER
4	Gerye Pilland	Tesse Power
5	IAN GIFFORD	Terrifordy
6	ERIC WILLIAMS	TERR POWER
7	Baofu Lu	TERRA POWER
8	REEDANZALONE	NRD /DANJ/UTBZ
9	Courtny BANKS	NRK/DANN/ WALT
10	Robert Krek	NRC/COMM / JMB
11		
12		
13		
14		
15		
16		
17		
18		
19		
20		
21		
22		
23		
24		
25		
26		
27		
28		y
29		-
20		