

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

April 19, 2021

MEMORANDUM TO:	John P. Segala, Chief Advanced Reactor Policy Branch Division of Advanced Reactors and Non-Power Production and Utilization Facilities Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
FROM:	Juan F. Uribe, Project Manager Advanced Reactor Policy Branch Division of Advanced Reactors and Non-Power Production and Utilization Facilities Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
SUBJECT:	SUMMARY OF MARCH 30, 2021, PUBLIC MEETING TO DISCUSS

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF MARCH 30, 2021, PUBLIC MEETING TO DISCUSS THE U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION'S DEVELOPMENT OF A REGULATORY FRAMEWORK FOR THE POSSIBLE COMMERCIAL DEPLOYMENT OF FUSION ENERGY SYSTEMS

On March 30, 2021, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff held a Category 3 public meeting with stakeholders, to discuss the NRC's development of a regulatory framework for the possible commercial deployment of fusion energy systems. The meeting notice is available in the NRC's Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS) at Accession No. ML21088A408, and the presentation slides are available at ADAMS Accession No. ML21088A294. During the meeting, there was a letter referenced (and in support of) a presentation provided by Hogan Lovells. The letter is from David Kirtley (Helion Energy) to William Reckley (NRC) titled "Developing a Graded Approach to Fusion Regulation" and is available at ADAMS Accession No. ML21085A477. The Enclosure to this summary provides the majority of attendees for the meeting as captured by Microsoft Teams. Due to technical difficulties, the complete list was not available.

Meeting Highlights

- The NRC staff discussed the new public meeting categories as described in a recent Commission policy statement (see ADAMS Accession No. ML21050A046) for stakeholder awareness. The NRC staff further emphasized that the March 30, 2021 meeting was a "Comment-Gathering Public Meeting" based on the new categorization, and that public discussion, feedback, and comments were actively sought.
- A total of 9 presentations were scheduled for the meeting. However, due to time constraints only 8 presentations were discussed. It was determined that the NRC's presentation titled "NRC Perspectives – Hybrid Approach" would be provided at a subsequent meeting.
- The meeting was well attended with over 155 participants. Questions and comments from stakeholders included:
 - An appreciation of the importance of having social acceptance for a new

technology, such as Fusion, in order to be successful;

- Understanding the importance of information that accurately describes the risk hazards from Fusion systems;
- The challenges regarding licensing a Fusion system under several different regulatory approaches such as: a utilization facility, a byproduct material, or a hybrid approach; and
- The availability of additional time such that a Fusion regulatory framework is not tied to the same regulatory framework timeline currently in development for advanced fission reactors, but still within the constraints imposed by the Nuclear Energy Innovation and Modernization Act.
- There were no significant or major actions for NRC staff as a result of the meeting. The NRC staff stated that the next public meeting is tentatively scheduled for the June timeframe.

Enclosure: Attendance List

J. Segala

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF MARCH 30, 2021, PUBLIC MEETING TO DISCUSS THE U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION'S DEVELOPMENT OF A REGULATORY FRAMEWORK FOR THE POSSIBLE COMMERCIAL DEPLOYMENT OF FUSION ENERGY SYSTEMS DATED: APRIL 19, 2021

DISTRIBUTION:

PUBLIC RidsNrrDanu Resource RidsNrrDanuUarp Resource JSegala JUribe WReckley

ADAMS Accession No.: ML21104A425			NRC-001
OFFICE	NRR/DANU/UARP/PM	NRR/DANU/UARP/BC	NRR/DANU/UARP/PM
NAME	JUribe	JSegala	JUribe
DATE	4/16/2021	4/19/2021	4/19/2021

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

March 30, 2021, Public Meeting to Discuss the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission's Development of a Regulatory Framework for the Possible Commercial Deployment of Fusion Energy Systems Attendance List*

NAME	AFFILIATION	NAME	AFFILIATION
Amy Hull	Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)	Abbey Goodman	
Anthony McMurtray	NRC	Adam Dodd	
Bob Beall	NRC	akash singh	
Carolyn Wolf	NRC	Akli, Kramer	
Dennis Andrukat	NRC	Allan Offenberger	
Derek Widmayer	NRC	Artem Smirnov	
Donald Palmrose	NRC	Ballantyne Paul	Kinectrics
Duncan White	NRC	Barbara Sandfuchs	
Eric Bowman	NRC	Barnes, Katherine	
Eric Oesterle	NRC	Ben Levitt	
Eric Schrader	NRC	Ben Levitt	
Hipo Gonzalez	NRC	Bernard Bevill	
Hipolito Gonzalez	NRC	Bob Probert	
John Segala	NRC	Brenda Garcia-Diaz	Savannah River National Laboratory
Joseph Sebrosky	NRC	Brian Nelson	
Juan Uribe	NRC	Bromley, Blair	
Maxine Keefe	NRC	Calle Vives, Paula	IAEA
Mohamed Shams	NRC	Cameron Tarry	
Nestor Makris	NRC	Cappello	
Prosanta Chowdhury	NRC	Caroline Sorensen	
Samantha Crane	NRC	Chan, Desmond	
Steve Lynch	NRC	Charles Gordon	
Steven Vitto	NRC	Charles Kessel	
Tony Nakanishi	NRC	Chirayu Batra	
William Reckley	NRC	Chris Ajemian	
		Chris Faranetta	
Jennifer Uhle	Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI)	Chris Jones	NASEM
Richard Hawryluk	Princeton Plasma Physics Lab	Corinne Mitchell	
Seth Hoedl	Post Road Foundation	Crowley, David P	
Andrew Holland	Fusion Industry Association	Dale Meade	Princeton University
Michl Binderbauer	TAE	Daniel Clark	
Bob Mumgaard	CFS	Daniel Slesinski	
Greg Snitchler	TAE	Dave Babineau	
Tyler Ellis	CFS	Dave Roop	DWR Associates
Jeffrey S. Merrifield	Pillsbury	Dennis Whyte	
Desai, Sachin	Hogan Lovell	Dennis Whyte	MIT Plasma Science and Fusion Center
David Kirtley	Helion Energy	Derek Sutherland	
Diego Saenz	DHS - Wisconsin	Desmond Chan	
		Diane Demers	

NAME	AFFILIATION	NAME	AFFILIATION
Dodd, Adam		Laila El-Guebaly	
Don Beyer		Lindsay Daly	
Edwin Lyman	UCS	Lindsay Daly	
Eric Sezgen		Manoj Albot	
Ethan Peterson		Manship, Joel	
Ferguson, Phillip		Marta Calvo	
Floyd DesChamps		Mary Burkhart	
Fowler, Sidney L		Mary McCormick	
Francesco Volpe		Matt Miles	
Frank Schaaf		Matt Miller	
Gehring, Michael		Matteo Barbarino	
George Larsen		Matthew Greenwood	
Gianluca Pisanello		Matthew Parsons	
Glenn Kelly		Michael H	
Grace Peach		Miguel Pretelli	OCEM
Greg Wallace	MIT PSFC	Mike O'Neill	
Guillaume		Mike Stephens	
Hsu, Scott C	DOE	Mike Z	
louri Prokofiev		Mike Zarnstorff	
Jacob A. Schwartz		MMeekins	
Jake Blanchard		Nardella, Gene	DOE
James Kring		Nehl, Colleen	
James Kring		Neil Alexander	
Jan Kirchhoff		Niko McMurray	ClearPath
Jana Bergman		Panayotov Dobromir	F4E
Jane Hotchkiss		Patrick White	
Jed Styron		Patrick White	
Jennifer Ganten		Paul W. Humrickhouse	
Jerome Lacapere		Peter Lyons	
Joanne Zulinski		Phillip Peterson	
Johnny Graves		Poore III, Willis	
Jon K. Kapitz		Prof Prabhat Ranjan	DYPIU
Jonathan Musgrove		R. David Edelman	
Joshua Daehler		Robert C. Harris	
Karen Gibson		Roger	
Karen Tuccillo		Roger Champion	
Kathryn Hitch	Sen. Crapo staff	Roger Fenner	
Katie Rittenhouse		Rognlien, Tom	
Kevin Lee		Roma, Amy C.	
Kim Steves	KDHE	Rosenberg, Alex	

NAME	AFFILIATION	NAME	AFFILIATION
Ryan Umstattd			
Sara E Ferry			
Scott Krisiloff			
Scott Landry	CDPH - California		
Sean Mahoney			
shaun haskey			
Shaun Haskey			
Shaw, Guinevere	DOE		
Shober, Megan L	DHS		
Steven Lawler			
Steven Pope			
Susan Gallier			
Taylor, Alex			
Thomas Davis			
Thomas Magette			
Thomas Vanek			
Tim Bohm	Univ. of Wisconsin		
Vanek, Thomas			
Vesselina Ranguelova	IAEA		
Waide Warner			
Whitehorne, Todd			
Wurzel, Sam			
Zachary Johnson			
Zulinski, Joanne			

* Attendance list based on Microsoft Teams Participant list.