April 7, 2016

Dennis C. Bley, Chairman Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001

## SUBJECT: NON-POWER PRODUCTION OR UTILIZATION FACILITIES PROPOSED LICENSE RENEWAL RULEMAKING

Dear Dr. Bley:

Thank you for your letter dated March 15, 2016. In the letter, you provided the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) summary conclusions and recommendations regarding the non-power production or utilization facilities (NPUF) license renewal proposed rulemaking and the associated supporting documents. The staff benefited from its interactions with the ACRS on this topic and we appreciate the members' valuable insights. The ACRS conclusions regarding the benefits of the proposed rule reinforce the staff's recommendation, which is to continue with the NPUF rulemaking and to request public comments on the proposed regulatory actions.

Sincerely,

/RA Michael R. Johnson Acting for/

Victor M. McCree Executive Director for Operations

cc: Chairman Burns Commissioner Svinicki Commissioner Ostendorff Commissioner Baran SECY Dennis C. Bley, Chairman Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001

## SUBJECT: NON-POWER PRODUCTION OR UTILIZATION FACILITIES PROPOSED LICENSE RENEWAL RULEMAKING

Dear Dr. Bley:

Thank you for your letter dated March 15, 2016. In the letter, you provided the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) summary conclusions and recommendations regarding the non-power production or utilization facilities (NPUF) license renewal proposed rulemaking and the associated supporting documents. The staff benefited from its interactions with the ACRS on this topic and we appreciate the members' valuable insights. The ACRS conclusions regarding the benefits of the proposed rule reinforce the staff's recommendation, which is to continue with the NPUF rulemaking and to request public comments on the proposed regulatory actions.

Sincerely,

/RA Michael R. Johnson Acting for/ Victor M. McCree Executive Director for Operations

cc: Chairman Burns Commissioner Svinicki Commissioner Ostendorff Commissioner Baran SECY

DISTRIBUTION: LTR-16-0143-1 PUBLIC RidsAcrs\_MailCTR RidsEdoMailCenter

RidsNrrMail Center RidsNrrDpr RidsNrrOd GLappert RBeall DDoyle

ADAMS Accession No.: PKG: ML16076A242; Incoming: ML16077A371; Response: ML16082A130 \*Via E-Mail

OFFICE	NRR/DPR/PRMB/PM	NRR/DPR/PRMB/RS*	Tech Editor*	NRR/DPR/PRLB/BC*	NRR/DPR/PRMB/BC*
NAME	RBeall	GLappert	CHsu	AAdams	Ddoyle
DATE	03/17/2016	3/22/2016	03/21/2016	03/21/2016	03/17/2016
OFFICE	NRR/DPR/DD	NRR/DPR/D	NRR/D	EDO	
NAME	MGavrilas	LKokajko	WDean	VMcCree (MJohnson) for	
DATE	3/24/16	3/25/16	4/3/16	04/07/16	

## OFFICIAL RECORD COPY