June 7, 2007

- MEMORANDUM TO: Russell Gibbs, Chief Plant Licensing Branch III-2 Division of Operating Reactor Licensing
- FROM: Thomas J. Wengert, Project Manager /RA/ Plant Licensing Branch III-2 Division of Operating Reactor Licensing
- SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING MEETING WITH PETITIONER REQUESTING ACTION UNDER 10 CFR 2.206 REGARDING PROTECTION AGAINST CONTROL ROD DRIVE MECHANISM NOZZLE LEAKAGE FAST CORROSION SCENARIO
- DATE & TIME: Monday, June 18, 2007 10:30 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.
- LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission One White Flint North 11555 Rockville Pike, Room O5B-4 Rockville, Maryland 20852
- PURPOSE: To discuss the petitioner's concerns regarding the conclusions reached in the recently submitted report, prepared by consultants to FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company (FENOC), concerning the 2002 reactor pressure vessel head corrosion event at Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station.
- CATEGORY 3: \* This is a Category 3 Meeting. The public is invited to participate in this meeting by providing comments at a designated point during the meeting.

MEETING CONTACTS:	T. Wengert, NRR	T. Mensah, NRR
	301-415-4037	301-415-3610
	<u>tjw2@nrc.gov</u>	tme@nrc.gov

\* Commission's Policy Statement on "Enhancing Public Participation in NRC Meetings" (67 FR 36920), May 28, 2002.

R. Gibbs

PARTICIPANTS: Participants from the NRC include members of the Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR), the Office of Enforcement (OE), and the Office of General Counsel (OGC).

<u>NRC</u>

- H. Nieh, NRR
- J. Longo, OGC
- S. Rosenberg, NRR
- R. Gibbs, NRR
- T. Wengert, NRR
- J. Collins, NRR
- T. Mensah, NRR
- et. al

FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company TBD

<u>Petitioner</u> D. Lochbaum, Union of Concerned Scientists

Docket No. 50-346

Enclosure: Agenda

cc w/encl: See next page

R. Gibbs

PARTICIPANTS: Participants from the NRC include members of the Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR), the Office of Enforcement (OE), and the Office of General Counsel (OGC).

NRC

- H. Nieh, NRR
- J. Longo, OGC
- S. Rosenberg, NRR
- R. Gibbs, NRR
- T. Wengert, NRR
- J. Collins, NRR

T. Mensah, NRR et. al

FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company TBD

<u>Petitioners</u> D. Lochbaum, Union of Concerned Scientists

Docket No. 50-346

Enclosure: Agenda

cc w/encl: See next page

DISTRIBUTION:		
PUBLIC	RidsNrrDciCpnb	
LPL3-2 R/F	LClark, OGC	
RidsNrrAdro	BBurgess, RIII	
RidsNrrAdes	MSchwartz, OE	
RidsNrrDorl	RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter	
RidsNrrDorlLpl3-2	RidsRgn3MailCenter	
RidsNrrPMTWengert	Receptionist (OWFN and TWFN)	
RidsNrrLAEWhitt	PMNS	
LReyes, EDO	RJasinski	
RidsNrrDci	RidsOgcMailCenter	
GLongo, OGC	JCollins, NRR	
HNieh, NRR	WBateman, NRR	
TMensah, NRR	TBloomer, EDO, Region III	
MSatorius, RIII	JStrasma, OPA, Region III	
	RisOpaMail	

ADAMS Accession Number: ML071520343		071520343 N	IRC101	
OFFICE	LPL3-2/PM	LPL3-2/LA	LPL3-2/BC	
NAME	TWengert	EWhitt	RGibbs	
DATE	6/6/07	6/7/07	6/7/07	

## **OFFICIAL RECORD COPY**

## **U. S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION**

AND

## UNION OF CONCERNED SCIENTISTS MEETING REGARDING DAVIS-BESSE NUCLEAR POWER STATION 10 CFR 2.206 PETITION REQUEST CONCERNING PROTECTION AGAINST CONTROL ROD DRIVE MECHANISM (CRDM) NOZZLE LEAKAGE FAST CORROSION SCENARIO

June 18, 2007

## Agenda

- 10:30 a.m. 10:45 a.m. Introductions and opening remarks
- 10:45 a.m. 11:15 a.m. Remarks from petitioner
- 11:15 a.m. 11:45 a.m. Questions from Petition Review Board
- 11:45 a.m. 12:15 p.m. Conclusions and comments from members of the public
- 12:15 p.m. Adjourn

Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station, Unit No. 1

cc:

Manager, Site Regulatory Compliance FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station Mail Stop A-DB-3065 5501 North State Route 2 Oak Harbor, OH 43449-9760

Director, Ohio Department of Commerce Division of Industrial Compliance Bureau of Operations & Maintenance 6606 Tussing Road P.O. Box 4009 Reynoldsburg, OH 43068-9009

Regional Administrator, Region III U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Suite 210 2443 Warrenville Road Lisle, IL 60532-4352

Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 5503 North State Route 2 Oak Harbor, OH 43449-9760

Stephen Helmer Supervisor, Technical Support Section Bureau of Radiation Protection Ohio Department of Health 35 East Chestnut Street, 7<sup>th</sup> Floor Columbus, OH 43215

Carol O'Claire, Chief, Radiological Branch Ohio Emergency Management Agency 2855 West Dublin Granville Road Columbus, OH 43235-2206

Zack A. Clayton DERR Ohio Environmental Protection Agency P.O. Box 1049 Columbus, OH 43266-0149

State of Ohio Public Utilities Commission 180 East Broad Street Columbus, OH 43266-0573 Attorney General Office of Attorney General 30 East Broad Street Columbus, OH 43216

President, Board of County Commissioners of Ottawa County Port Clinton, OH 43252

President, Board of County Commissioners of Lucas County One Government Center, Suite 800 Toledo, OH 43604-6506

The Honorable Dennis J. Kucinich United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Dennis J. Kucinich United States House of Representatives 14400 Detroit Avenue Lakewood, OH 44107

Joseph J. Hagan President and Chief Nuclear Officer FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Mail Stop A-GO-14 76 South Main Street Akron, OH 44308

David W. Jenkins, Attorney FirstEnergy Corporation Mail Stop A-GO-15 76 South Main Street Akron, OH 44308

Danny L. Pace Senior Vice President, Fleet Engineering FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Mail Stop A-GO-14 76 South Main Street Akron, OH 44308

Manager, Fleet Licensing FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Mail Stop A-GO-2 76 South Main Street Akron, OH 44308 Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station, Unit 1

CC:

Director, Fleet Regulatory Affairs FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Mail Stop A-GO-2 76 South Main Street Akron, OH 44308

Jeannie M. Rinckel Vice President, Fleet Oversight FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Mail Stop A-GO-14 76 South Main Street Akron, OH 44308

Richard Anderson Vice President, Nuclear Support FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Mail Stop A-GO-14 76 South Main Street Akron, OH 44308

James H. Lash Senior Vice President of Operations and Chief Operating Officer FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Mail Stop A-GO-14 76 South Main Street Akron, OH 44308

Mr. Mark B. Bezilla Vice President FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station Mail Stop A-DB-3080 5501 North State Route 2 Oak Harbor, OH 43449-9760